Updating Your Operating System on the Release Day

Backup, backup, backup. And you’re ready to go.

Tom Athos
CodeX
3 min readOct 21, 2022

--

Photo by Norbert Levajsics on Unsplash

Apple has announced the release date of macOS Ventura and iPadOS 16.

macOS Ventura brings new features and is an important update for Mac. It brings the Stage Manager, the Weather app, and updated apps like Messages, Mail, and Safari. System settings have been heavily redesigned to more closely match the design in iOS and iPadOS. For all the new features, see the original Apple website here.

Apple’s second anticipated update is iPadOS 16. Like iOS 16, this iPad update brings new features to Messages, such as the ability to edit or unsend, Stage Manager, and the Weather app. You can read more about this update on Apple’s official website here.

As you can assume, these two updates for iPads and Macs are very welcome and anticipated.

Why should you update

System updates don’t always bring new features, but sometimes mainly new security fixes. System security is an area that many users tend to overlook. Update not only for new features, but also for system stability.

If it’s working, don’t fix it.

This quote may make you think you shouldn’t update it, but that depends. It is not always so black and white. Most companies publish release notes for each update, so read them and then decide if you need it. But in my experience with Apple, any minor updates with bug fixes and security patches are highly recommended. These updates will usually make your system run smoother and more securely. But for major updates with many new features, it’s better to take a few precautions. When a new feature is added to the system, there is a high chance of new bugs despite all the previous beta testing.

I don’t want to discourage you from updating, so read on.

Always be prepared for an update

I always find it hard to wait for updates with new features I want. Then comes release day. Should I update immediately? Yes, I want all the new features. But what if something goes wrong? It can go wrong and here’s what you need to do. No matter which operating system, program, or app you’re updating, this advice is useful for everyone.

1. Backup

Make sure you have a backup of your system. On Macs, you can use Time Machine, which I highly recommend. Back up your documents and your entire system to iCloud, an external drive, or even a NAS device, as I do. Make sure you also back up all your mobile devices using the built-in iCloud backup feature or a third-party app.

You don’t need a backup until you need one.

If something goes wrong while you’re updating your operating system to get the new features you want, make sure you have a plan B — disaster recovery. Believe me, without backups, you could end up with a headache or, worse, lose all your family photos, videos and important documents.

2. Wait a few days

I know this is a difficult task. You have finally reached the day of the update, and now you are going to wait a few more days? It is always advisable to do this, especially on the main devices. System errors or bugs will always occur, regardless of which company it is. Bugs are part of every operating system, program, or application.

If you haven’t skipped point 1 — backup, then you’re probably ready to go. Just make sure your backups are not corrupted. Double-check instead.

3. Get ready for the update

If your device uses a battery, take the time to make sure it has enough power for the update. Press the update button. Wait. Enjoy the new features. That’s my experience with Apple devices so far.

Conclusion

Believe me, I rarely wait a few days to update my device (Apple devices, I mean), but I am a bit more cautious with major updates. I always make sure I have a good backup because I don’t want my system and files to get corrupted, and I don’t have any recovery plan.

So, are you going to do the update on the first day? Please let me know in the comments.

Thank you for reading. Always appreciated.

Originally published at https://www.tomathosblog.com on October 21, 2022.

--

--

Tom Athos
CodeX

Technology enthusiast, musician, teacher.