Which RSS Reader for Mac and iPhone?

If there’s one thing I like, it’s RSS readers.

Tom Athos
3 min readFeb 6, 2023

If there’s one thing I like, it’s RSS readers. I could say I’m addicted to it. I mostly consume news and read articles all over the web thanks to RSS feeds. Furthermore, I subscribe to articles, social feeds (Twitter and Mastodon) and YouTube channels.

The main advantage is that you don’t waste a lot of time checking channels, and you don’t see any ads (not even on YouTube!).

If you haven’t tried using RSS feeds yet, I strongly recommend you start soon. It will change your daily routine and save you time.

Which RSS reader is the best?

There is no best RSS reader, but some are excellent. Since I am an Apple user, I will list just a few that I like.

News Explorer

A news reader with syncing, themes, and support for Twitter and JSON feeds.

It has been my daily driver for many years. It works seamlessly on my Mac and syncs with my iPhone and iPad via iCloud. Not only that, but it has lots of customization options. It costs €9.99 for Mac and €5.99 for iOS, iPad, Apple TV and Apple Watch.

Visit their website for more information: https://betamagic.nl/products/newsexplorer.html

Reeder 5

A news reader for the Mac and iOS with support for various sync services.

This RSS reader is very popular and similar to the previous one. It works perfectly and looks slightly better. My main drawback is that I cannot use the arrow key search in a YouTube video. When I press the arrow key, it just opens the browser in the app. The News Explorer searches the videos fine. Much of the other functionality is the same, but it has the option for Bionic Reading (read more about it at bionic-reading.com) and a built-in iCloud Read Later service. Prices are similar to News Explorer.

Read more about Reeder 5 on their website: https://reeder.app/

NetNewsWire

Free and open-source RSS reader for Mac, iPhone, and iPad

I would also like to mention NetNewsWire, as it is free and open source. I have just tried this application, and it works perfectly for a free application. It is available for Mac, iPhone, and iPad, but does not have as many customization options as the previous two. The great thing is that you can synchronise it with iCloud.

Read more about it on their website: https://netnewswire.com/

You can also find more RSS readers and other applications here: https://macopenweb.com/

Do you use an RSS reader? Tell me which one in the comments below.

Originally published at https://www.tomathosblog.com on February 6, 2023.

--

--