How learning online has helped me to develop better student-centred online teaching methods.

Tom Crisp
8 min readMay 1, 2020
FutureLearn

Over the past few months I have participated in a lot of online learning. I have been learning UX/UI design for long-term career development through an online course bootcamp. I have been refreshing myself on blended and online teaching practices through online Futurelearn courses for continual professional development and continuing to learn Japanese for fun on Busuu. This experience has allowed me (as I’ve been learning in my UX course) to empathise with my students and given me a student-centred way of looking at the material I’ve’ developed and delivery methods to design a more fun and interesting way to teach. With Universities pivoting towards online teaching, I wanted to share some of my experiences of learning online and the knowledge it has given me about designing better online learning experiences for my students. If you want to be fast, you can just read the teaching design points I’ve learnt!

1. Less is more with information delivery.

It is generally accepted rule that teaching online is better in short bursts and I can confirm that short, targeted sections of information are easily absorbed and understood online. Videos less than 15 minutes in length I found to be enough time to understand key concepts and discussion…

--

--