Death Row

A poem

Tom Kane
1 min readJun 20, 2024
Prisoner in cell
Image by Nightcafe

In the stillness of my cell,
I trace the lines of my past,
etched in the cold concrete walls,
each crack a memory, each shadow a regret.

The silence here is deafening,
a quiet that screams louder than any voice,
reminding me of the choices,
the paths I could have taken, but didn’t.

I think of the faces,
those I loved, those I hurt,
their eyes haunting me in the darkness,
their forgiveness a distant dream.

Time moves differently here,
each second a lifetime,
each heartbeat a reminder,
of the life I once had, now slipping away.

In this solitude, I find clarity,
a painful understanding of my own humanity,
the weight of my actions,
the hope for redemption, even in this final hour.

Click here to get my free weekly Poetry Genius Newsletter on Substack. All things poetry — discussion, hints and tips, tuition etc from Medium’s top poetry writer.

Click here to get my free weekly Newsletter, Healthwise, on Substack. All things Health, Wellness and Science

Click this link to read more about active longevity for seniors

--

--

Tom Kane

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium