The Philippines, a heaven for older men seeking younger women

Tomaž Gorec
8 min readJan 24, 2020

--

The Philippines are a heaven for tourists. Dreamy beaches, heavenly islands, volcanos and lakes are just some of the reasons that attract people to this magical place. What is more, the prices in the country are very low and the people are very kind. Because of that, Philippines are a dream destination to travel to. I visited it myself twice, and will surely do it again.

However, the Philippines aren’t primarily known for its travel destinations, but for the reason that older man from Europe and America go there to find much younger women. In the country, it is not uncommon for a foreigner to find a 30 years younger woman to marry.

The situation is that men like younger women. If you don’t think that this is true, ask yourself why do the rich and successful marry women twice their junior, even younger. Until now, I haven’t heard about a person who is rich, successful and married an older woman. Of course, there are some exceptions, but they were rare.

Why do men like younger women? Once I read in a book that men are, instinctively searching for a young and healthy woman who can give birth to his children. The book also explained why men like skinnier women. It says that skinnier women are potentially healthier, and will probably give birth to healthier children. On the other hand, men don’t like very skinny women because they don’t give the impression that they will give birth to healthy and strong children. Although, I hope that the overweight people won’t take this personally. This is not my opinion, I just read it in a book. But, I think this theory is very logical. Also, I have been involved in weight lost all my life, being from 10 to 20 kilograms overweight, so I know how hard it is to lose weight.

In Slovenia, it is hard to start a relationship with a woman who is 20 years your junior. Although I have a couple of friends who say it’s no problem if a man has money. Personally, I don’t believe in that, because if that was true, then someone would already be all over me. I don’t feel bad about it, but women are really not lining up to be with me. I’m not saying that I am well situated, that is why if someone sees me in my 12-year old Golf, she would thing that she will have to support me, not the other way around.

In the Philippines, the situation is completely different. Every foreigner there can easily find a beautiful and very young woman. The reason for that is that almost all of the foreigners are much wealthier than people living there.

I’ve never been interested in a woman from a foreign country, the cultural gaps are quite big. I never even considered marring a woman from Italy or Austria, let alone the Philippines, where the culture is completely different. However, it is hard and unfair to judge something if you don’t see or experience it.

I have a friend, Alexander, who is married to a 33 years younger woman, Malariel. When he saw Maraliel for the first time, she was less than 25 years old. Although I don’t care much for Asian women, she was a real beauty.

Alexander and Malariel lived in Ljubljana at first, and after a few years they moved to the Philippines. While they were in Ljubljana, we met a few times, and Alexander always praised his wife and how great she was. He used to tell me that she had good manners, she was smart, respectful and he loved it. I didn’t believe him, I thought every man praises his wife. The only thing I believed is that she was beautiful. She was really beautiful, and still is today.

Alexander has been inviting me to come to the Philippines for years and promised he could arrange me a beautiful and younger woman. Last summer I accepted the invitation and visited him. I didn’t stay at his house, but in a hotel around 300 meters away. Alexander has a small house, and I didn’t want to be burden on him for 24 hours a day. Also, I am a kind of person that need some peace and time for myself.

During the two weeks, while visiting Alexander, I realized how great of a wife he has, and that I was completely wrong about her. She is very handy, smart and capable.

I admit that, personally, it is very difficult for a woman to make a good impression on me. Malariel did it! She absolutely impressed me one night when I invited Alexander and her for dinner. I suggested that we go to dinner at a resort, owned by a Korean, because Alexander told me a few days ago, that they had good food. When I invited them, Malariel said: “Let’s go somewhere else, that’s the most expensive one”. I haven’t meet many women who are so kind to my wallet like Malariel was. I usually meet those who would suggest the most expensive restaurants. In the end, we did go to the Korean one. The good thing is that I only paid two or three euros more at the Korean place than I would anywhere else.

Melariel really impressed me, not only was she kind to my wallet, but also she was really friendly, hardworking, responsible and smart. I really wouldn’t mind having a woman like that fall in love with me. Since visiting the Philippines, I think that Alexander is one of the happiest people in the world. Besides the fact that he has a woman that respects him, he also loves her. In addition, as I saw, she loves him back. If you watch the entire interview with Alexander, I am sure you will have a positive opinion about him. Alexander is a very good man. I became convinced of that when I saw how he helps people and children in the village where they live. He cared for a poor family’s daughter. I have great respect for the man.

Why does every young Filipino girl want to get a foreigner husband?

The main reason is of economic nature. Namely, if a Filipino woman get a foreigner husband, both she and her family are cared for.

Does that mean that Filipino women are prostitutes? Before visiting Alexander and getting to know his story, I would have said that, but now I don’t. When I went to the Philippines 4 years ago, I met Maja Prašnikar and her boyfriend Klemen, who have been living there for a longer period of time. Maja Prašnikar is a cute girl who was in a reality show called “The farm”. During our conversation, we got to the topic about how almost all Filipino women are looking for a foreigner from Europe or America. Maja and Klemen explained that this is just part of the culture there… But I said, without hesitation, that I think that such women were materialists and whores. Maja and Klemen strongly disagreed with me.

To this day, I don’t know exactly how it all works. However, what I do know is that Filipino women are good and honest. And when I met them, they were all happily married. Maybe much more than a Slovenian woman with a husband her age.

How to get a young Filipino woman in practice?

On my trip to the Philippines, I met quite a few Slovenes who have a much younger Filipino wife. One of them was Roman, which has a very nice resort on the island of Camotes. If you go to Camotes, I recommend staying at his resort. The prices are good and the service quality is very high.

Roman is 60 years old and his wife is 22. Every time I came to see Roman, his wife was always doing something at the resort, despite being in the later stages of pregnancy. That is when I realized she was very hardworking.

Once when Roman and me were talking on his terrace, I asked him directly how did he manage to get such a nice, young and good-looking wife. He said that it was very easy in the Philippines. As I was interested in this, he told me that his wife was selling fruits and vegetables at a market. When he first saw her, he was very interested in her. When he saw her a second time, he approached and openly said that he liked her very much and that he wanted to marry her. He gave her his business card and told her if she was interested , she should give him a call. She sent him an SMS two days later. Then, for about two weeks, they sent each other messages and a month later they got married. If you ask me, it all happened too fast, but given that they both look very happy, I don’t see anything wrong with that.

Yes, it is that easy to get a wife in the Philippines.

But, is it ethical?

While traveling through the Philippines and writing about it on Facebook, I received quite a few comments on my posts, saying that it is not ethical, that this is the exploitation of young girls who are in a difficult situation.

It is true that people in the Philippines are very poor and their monthly salary is only about 100 euros, but no one needs to be hungry. Everyone who works or doesn’t work can easily survive, so no one is hungry. Personally, I think that these young women who marry older foreigners are not forced to do it for survival. At least the vast majority isn’t! That is why I don’t see anything morally wrong with marrying a Filipino woman. These girls voluntarily choose to be with an older foreigner.

If there is love between them, I don’t know. For me, there isn’t enough money in the world that would convince me to be intimate with a woman without having at least some feelings toward her. However, for others, I’m not sure. Everyone decides for themselves.

But men aren’t the only ones seeking younger partners, let me just say that older women from Europe and America also go to poorer countries to find 30 years younger men. The most popular destination for women is Africa. I don’t know exactly why Africa, that’s a question we should be asking them.

--

--

Tomaž Gorec

I’m a photographer, world traveler and enterpreneur.