Palette. Concept app

Tommy Wakeham
4 min readJan 8, 2018

--

UX Design | Mobile app

A place where artists can share their work

This was a rapid prototype project, going from concept to clickable prototype in 5 days.

User research

I was paired with Charlie for Project 1. We began the process by getting to know each other better through an informal interview. Once I had some background information on her I could begin honing in on some topics to try and find a problem to solve.

We spoke about many topics such as the problems she had with procrastination and the troubles she had when nannying abroad. It was her love of sketching that I decided to focus on and explore more. I used sketching as the domain of a concept map to gain more of an understanding and to help collate my research and find new links.

I asked non leading questions which were directed by the concept map I created. Her answers provided me with rich meaningful data that I could translate into a problem.

“My sketches just sit in my sketch book, but I want them to be appreciated”

“I get really inspired when I see other artists work”

The problem

Through the concept mapping and the interviews I identified a problem for Charlie.

The Problem: Charlie is a passionate artist who loves sketching but her finished work sits in her sketchbook for no one to see. She wants a place she can show off her artwork as well as appreciate other artists work and gain inspiration.

The solution: A dedicated platform for amateur artists to post their work so they feel its being appreciated.

I created a storyboard to begin to imagine the use case of the app. It helped visualise the problem and the solution.

User flows were also generated to to help understand the screens that might be needed.

User flow, iteration 1

After I received some feedback I made a second iteration. this was so I focused on the specifics of the app instead of wasting time on unnecessary screens.

User flow, Final Iteration

Iterations

I began getting some ideas down on paper in the form of first iteration wireframes. To begin with I created a very broad spectrum of screens. I was focusing too much on features and unimportant screens. This is also demonstrated in my first iteration user flow. I created login screens but realised this was not the necessary.

Login page
Profile page

After a feedback session I concentrated on one feature. I began creating screens that related to my second iteration user flow and followed the “happy path”. The path was to post a new sketch to the users feed.

The initial design for this process was based on one screen. Users upload their sketch, add a description and add search tags in three separate, distinct actions on the same screen.

After some research on best practice, playing with other apps and user feedback it was clear that separating these screens was more intuitive.

Second iteration of upload process

I conducted another round of user testing. I discovered that users were attempting to add search tags in the “description” text box. For the final iteration the “add description” and “add search tags” screens were combined. This resulted in one less screen in the overall happy path.

Final iteration of upload sketch screens

This means less clicks for the user and also saves time and money for the client.

The Product

The final product can be seen below. It shows the process of uploading a sketch.

Outcome

After testing and reiterating I have developed a dedicated place where artists can share their work so they can get the appreciation they want.

Next Steps

Next steps for Palette are an art marketplace. Charlie mentioned she would like a place to buy cheap art work. The app could also be used for artists to sell their work.

In the future Palette could also be used to organise amateur artist meet ups. Artists could share ideas and even collaborate.

--

--