My journey Part 3: Starting a business

Tom Verbruggen
5 min readJan 8, 2019

With a budget of 500€ and a trainticket to Paris. Read to the bottom for my top 5 mistakes.

Starting up the business (Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash)

Choosing Wisely

This story is the third part of starting up my own business. In the last story, the seed was planted and the idea-tap was turned wide open. It was now time to put it in motion. Its the summer of 2011.

I decided that I would just do what I liked to do and was passionate about. My dream of becoming a professional triathlete !

Yes ? Well, no. Did not happen…Was not fast enough…

It had to have a business component. The other thing I was lyrical about was aviation and more important the process of continuous improvement. Building better processes, building better companies, safer operations etc…

So I would start a consultancy office for aviation companies, large and small, focusing on Safety and Quality. I would write operations manuals, draft procedures, perform audits, give trainings. And build an empire of aviation consultancy greatness. To the stars ! And beyond !!!

Focus on the meat

I felt I had probably found the niche of niches. It does not get smaller than that. Anyway, I still think it is key to focus on what you know best and what really makes you happy.

--

--

Tom Verbruggen

Dreamer and Creator. Pilot & digital nitwit.A written journey on midlife startup adventures and converting dreams to reality. Co-Founder of www.idronect.com