School’s ⓞⓤⓣ for Summer

Time to Apply Elementary Lessons Learned

Toni The Talker
5 min readMay 27, 2023
Created in Canva by Toni Greathouse

Listening to America’s youngest citizens via a substitute teaching job that spanned Spring 2023, rendered me silent. To wax poetic, a lilted sound burst through the din. It whispered words, that spoke of my swan song at a volume I (alone) could hear. What I will be doing, for the next 5 years, was melodically scored to the music of my life. It tugs with soul-stirring verve on my heartstrings. It’s a call to action that plays on repeat.

To be less cryptic, teaching at a local elementary school expanded my heart and mind. Direct exposure to the endless enthusiasm and unbridled joy of students was the catalyst. I plan to return to the building in the fall… just not as a sub. “Ms. G.” as the kids call me, will step in occasionally as the school’s floating class grandmother.

My commitment is to increase support to teachers. Far too often, lessons are disrupted and attention is diverted to deal with the emotional demands of one or two students.

Created in Canva by Toni Greathouse

I started my tenure in the classroom back in February. Learned that education is at the intersection of every aspect of life. It serves as the foundation of every community on earth.

As citizens on this rock, the most important work we’ll ever do is to ensure every child is extended equal access to resources and opportunities. The caveat is that they alone must assume responsibility for first figuring out what gives their life meaning… then passionately pursuing whatever that is.

In a nutshell, the answer to the question of what I’ll be doing over the next 5 years, is building a bridge (at the grassroots of community) between the youngest and oldest citizens. I’ve actually been blindly moving in that direction for decades.

Turns out my internal compass has doubled as a GPS. In retrospect, where I’ve been, what I’ve done and who I’ve crossed paths with make sense. Over the years, they’ve worked in unison to propel me closer to this destination.

Created in Canva by Toni Greathouse

What I didn’t know, was the importance of trying out substitute teaching. It challenged me to do what I could, with what I had, where I was. The result was magical!

Summarily, it offered insights that supplied the missing pieces needed to connect my personal puzzle. It all happened below my level of cognition. Each morning, in the school’s lobby, I was greeted by a poster on the wall.

The tone, hummed imperceptively, at a level that kept stress at bay. It silently soothed my psyche from the moment my feet hit the entrance. It began with a quote by novelist Bryce Courtenay, “First with the head, then with the heart.” They led in to the sentiment expressed below.

Created in Canva by Toni Greathouse

Real Talk

These words motivated me to rise to the rigors of the job. Over the course of four months, I subbed for every kindergarten through fifth grade room. For all who aren’t familiar with Bryce Courtenay, his magnum opus, was the best selling book “The Power of One.

Teaching is a noble profession. Equipping the youngest among us with the mindset to succeed is rewarding work. It’s a role everyone, who has a pulse, can step into. Today teachers and mentors are desperately needed in every corner on the face of the earth.

Created in Canva byToni Greathouse

Here’s What I Know For Certain

I’m not smarter than a fifth grader or a fourth grader, or a third grader and in one very specific case, not even a second grader. Why? Because I’ve forgotten more facts than I’d acquired. Case in point. One humbling experience left me at a loss for words. I stepped into a class of 27 second graders, briefly, so their teacher could go the office for a meeting.

She was in the middle of a worksheet that added, ed to the end of a word. Easy peasy right? You’d think? Three words down a second grader raised her hand and asked me to clarify the explanation. My lame response… didn’t your teacher already go over that? Another smarty partarty student saved my ass. She parotted what her teacher had taught at the beginning of the lesson.

Here’s the thing, in a public school setting you must learn how to teach to the middle. About 5% of the kids in the classroom learn quickly. You say something once and they’ve got it. Another 5% are just lost. For a wide range of reasons. You could explain the lesson 100 times but they’re not in a place to comprehend what you’re saying.

Low-key: In 58 years, rote memory has taken over. What I learned is with a bit of “re-education” long ago lessons that have been collecting dust in my brain are retrievable. Moreover, I was surprised to learn that I’m kinda good at teaching… as long as I’m able to pair the lesson with a story!

Created in Canva by Toni Greathouse

Final Ancedote/Shout Out

On the second day of the job, I texted Natalie. She’s a writer many of us mutually read. She’s an amazing personal essayist (and human being) who was a former math professor. Our Medium paths crossed often. As a result we formed an off-line, albeit long-distance, cell phone friendship.

Regardless, my assignment was in fifth grade. The morning had gone well, but looking at the afternoon math plan included a full hour of fractions stuffed inside story problems. Folks, I’m an artist! Simple math, I crush. But thanks to Nat, I got through it!

Created in Canva by Toni Greathouse

🔹About Me ➖ Toni Greathouse 🔹🅶🅰🅼🅴 🅾🅽 : IT’ᔕ ᖴᑌᑎ

--

--

Toni The Talker

📢 Better 𝓷𝓸𝓽 Bitter ➖ Walking My Talk💬 Making the Rest of My Life the Best of My Life❣️ 𝕱𝖎𝖈𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓 𝓦𝖗𝖎𝖙𝖊𝖗 ✏️ 𝕮𝖆𝖗𝖎𝖈𝖆𝖙𝖚𝖗𝖊 𝓐𝖗𝖙𝖎𝖘𝖙