7 Day Writing Challenge [Day #7]

Heer Shingala
2 min readNov 11, 2021

--

7th installment of the 7 day writing challenge.

Title —

In defence of small towns

On the fated day our favourite white beard dropped the news of a national lockdown, I happened to be visiting my parents. 20 months have passed since and I still find myself living back in my tiny hometown with my parents.

This article is an ode to the things I have learned after moving back to the town I grew up in after spending the larger part of the decade in metros.

1. Physical proximity lends itself to friendships more than you can imagine. Only as latter fades does it leave in its path the space for equal rights to blossom.

3. Young men find it easier to move out of their hometowns, but it is more important for young women & queers to do the same.

4. Let me rephrase that. It is nearly impossible for queers to live in small towns without being utterly suppressed.

5. It’s easy to be single when you live with your parents. At the same time, they don’t prefer that. ;)

6. Pause and check how old your parents have gotten. I was shooketh when I did that.

7. If you grew up religious, you will still find some comfort in rituals you never believed in.

Note: As the 7-day challenge comes to an end, I feel my writing muscle stretching after a long period of numbness. I am extending it to 30 days. Lesssgooooo.

--

--

Heer Shingala

Writer. Gets nervous while writing bios. Got a writer’s block so left this one incomp..