GSoC 2023 with OpenMRS (community bonding)

Topherlumu
2 min readMay 30, 2023

--

I’m thrilled to share that I was selected as a Google Summer of Code 2023 contributor to work on the project 03: Migrate vanilla React forms to RHF for the OpenMRS 3.0 Frontend under OpenMRS.
With my mentors Dennis Kigen and Hadijah Kyampeire

About this Project

OpenMRS has a requirement to improve the performance and maintainability of the existing React Forms in our application. The current forms have become less performant or extensible and difficult to manage as they grow in size and number of fields and for the most part lack validation. To address this, I am going to be working on refactoring the existing forms using the React Hook Form (RHF) library and Zod for schema validation.

Community Bonding

The community bonding period has been interesting and fruitful. Fact that I have heard to learn alot of new cool ways of working with react .

We started it with an orientation meeting with all the mentors and all the selected students.

twitter post

then an initial meet with my mentors where they shared with me the goals and expectations of the project and emphasis on resources that should keep me on top of my game here.

On May 9th, I had the opportunity to attend the Google Summer of Code — Contributor Welcome Talk, which was organized by Google. It was a wonderful experience , a community with over 500 contributors.
It’s inspiring to see so many people coming together to contribute to open-source projects, and I am sure to learn alot from fellow contributors.

Now that we have finally kicked off with coding, am excited to write code that aims at refactoring vanilla react forms

See you in the next one!
Cheers

--

--