My Experience with the Canva Data Breach

topqlearn.com
3 min readMay 2, 2024

--

My Experience with the Canva Data Breach

Canva is my go-to platform for all things design. From social media posts to presentations, it’s a user-friendly haven for anyone, tech-savvy or not. But in May 2019, that haven got a little shaky. A data breach affected millions of users, including myself, and it left a mark.

What Happened?

Let me rewind to May 24th, 2019. News broke that hackers had infiltrated Canva’s system.

They managed to access user information like usernames, email addresses, and even location data. For a significant portion of users (around 61 million), encrypted passwords were also compromised.

Thankfully, the good news was that financial information like credit card numbers seemed to be safe. Still, a data breach is a big deal, and it left many users, myself included, feeling uneasy.

The Scramble to Secure My Account

The first sign of trouble was an email from Canva. It wasn’t the usual design inspiration or new feature announcement. This email spoke of a security breach, and a coldness settled in my stomach.

The email explained the situation and urged users to change their passwords immediately. As someone who reuses passwords (a terrible habit, I know!), this was a wake-up call. I quickly logged in and changed my password to a strong, unique one.

But the worry lingered.

What if the hackers had already gotten their hands on my information? What damage could they do?

Canva’s Response and the Aftermath

Canva acted swiftly. They shut down the attack, notified authorities, and kept users updated on the situation. They also offered additional security measures like two-factor authentication, which I enabled right away.

However, the initial communication wasn’t perfect. Some users felt it downplayed the severity of the breach. This led to criticism and a revised communication strategy from Canva, which focused on transparency and user safety.

Here’s the thing: data breaches happen. But how companies handle them matters.

In the following months, we learned that some of those stolen passwords (around 4 million) were actually decrypted by the hackers.

This meant another round of password changes and heightened anxiety for affected users.

Lessons Learned

Lessons Learned: A Security Savvy Creator

The Canva data breach was a turning point for me. It highlighted the importance of cybersecurity and the need for strong passwords. Here’s what I learned:

  • Unique and Strong Passwords: Gone are the days of reusing passwords. Now, I use a password manager to create strong, unique passwords for every account.
  • Two-Factor Authentication: This extra layer of security adds another hurdle for hackers, and it’s a must-have for all my accounts.
  • Staying Vigilant: I’m more cautious about emails and click on links only if I’m confident about the source.
  • Regular Password Changes: While a hassle, changing passwords regularly adds an extra layer of protection.

Canva Today: A More Secure Platform

Canva has come a long way since the 2019 breach. They’ve invested heavily in security measures and are more transparent about their practices. While there’s always a risk of cyberattacks, I feel confident using Canva again, knowing they take security seriously.

The Takeaway: We’re All in This Together

The Canva data breach serves as a reminder that we all have a role to play in online security. By being vigilant and adopting secure practices, we can create a safer digital space for everyone.

Here are some additional tips for staying secure online:

  • Be cautious about what information you share online.
  • Use a VPN for public Wi-Fi networks.
  • Keep your software updated.
  • Be wary of phishing scams.

By following these tips and learning from experiences like the Canva breach, we can all be more secure online.

--

--