No limits for Monsta X, they rushed towards its 2.0 version

The NO LIMIT album brought a new version of Monsta X, with more aggressiveness in its title track and a more mature version of the members.

Torya Zanella
3 min readNov 29, 2021

by Torya Zanella 29–11–2021

font: Monsta X official twitter @ OfficialMonstaX

On Thursday November 18th, male K-Pop group Monsta X made their comeback with the album “NO LIMIT”. The sextet, who for reasons of the leader is serving in the army, made their comeback with the song “Rush Hour” with their five active members bringing an interesting new twist to their well-known trademark music.

The group, formed in 2016, this month made its comeback with a seven-song album and a lot of attitude. With a new guise of very heavy electronic songs, they brought an extra ‘weight’ to the well-known intense and aggressive songs of the group’s titles.

“Rush Hour” had a big impact on me, and even though I’ve known the group for a long time, I wasn’t expecting the intensity with which this title track came. Intense and aggressive with a MV with lots of cowboy and wild west references, plus ‘speed’ and lots of car and racing references.

The title already starts with an ambiance with the ‘spooky’ whistle that soon turns into a song of distorted bass lines and intense verses from the rappers, also the singers brought new colors with aggressive tones, from low to high notes.

The album as a whole goes on with intense songs and electronic sounds, with lyrics about love, trust, spending intimate time with a loved one, intense relationships that might not be so good, but this writer is very happy with the way the group brought more mature concepts and lyrics.

The group surprised me with the intensity which was taken to another level. Seven songs different from each other, but all containing the group’s known traits, all very intense in the emotions they propose.

Very consistent rap verses, from the uses of flow to cadences and content, the Monsta X rappers are not your typical K-Pop rapper and the singers are impeccable in their own textures.

Extremely personal note: with the active members the line distribution was interesting and from a time to now I have felt that each member’s unique voice is being much better crafted.

I don’t have much more to say other than: I’m surprised at this work and in love with it, easily an album that ranks high on my list.

MY MUSICAL CHOICE

“Mercy”

To put it bluntly, the music won me over in the first few notes and kept me very interested until the last one.

And it made me listen to it for an hour straight with no breaks and no exaggerations.

An intense song, a little melancholy and definitely dramatic. A cry for help for a love that no longer worked.

“It reminded me of a few years ago…”

CONCLUSION

My conclusion from this album is that Monsta X always manages to surpass itself. I’ve had times when I didn’t like their songs, or the title tracks just gave me agony, but always with very intense songs.

Monsta X’s title tracks tend to be aggressive and the ballads are always melancholy. Besides the happy ones with a touch of bubblegum pop that I didn’t hear on this album.

In the end, overall, it surprised me.

8.5/10 for the album, because I was surprised at how they brought new things without losing their essence. The title track gets a 4.5/5 because, as I stated in the YouTube reaction video (that is in portuguese), Monsta X decided to be a 2.0 version of themselves.

And I’ll end by saying again that the more mature concept, even because the group’s target audience is older, made me very happy.

and to more info, thoughts and talks about music and K-Pop follow @ monfoxy_ at twitter, instagram and tiktok

--

--

Torya Zanella

Hi, I am a composer and writer, I love music and any form of art. My passion is K-Pop and I dream of one day working with some of my favorite artists.