Xcode 14.3 TurboModuleUtils.h: No such file or directory

Lee young-jun
3 min readApr 2, 2023

Whenever new Xcode is released, I upgraded Xcode on my home before upgrading the machine in the office.

Last saturday, I noticed Xcode 14.3 was released, so I upgraded it immediately.

However I can’t build Kickgoing with Xcode 14.3 and I looking for the way to solve the problem.

XCode emit this error.

find: node_modules/react-native/ReactCommon/turbomodule/core/TurboModuleUtils.h: No such file or directory

Even with cleaning build caches, I can’t solve it.

clean build- X

remove DerivedData X

rm -rf node_modules X

I checked if turbomodule is on the path.

But I can’t find ReactCommon/turbomodule

instead of turbomodule, TurboModuleUtils exists.

react-native/ReactCommon/react/nativemodule/core/ReactCommon/TurboModuleUtils.h

I can’t find what’s wrong, so I tried another solutions specified to Pod.

rm -rf Pods

rm -rf Podfile.lock

However I can’t solve the problem.

Use XCode 14.2 Command Tools

I see the answer of similar questions, the answer is ‘use Xcode 14.2 intead of 14.3’. So I decided to use Xcode 14.2.

To use 14.2, Open Apple Download Page and search Xcode 14.2.

I Pressed View Details and Xcode 14.2.dmg to download XCode 14.2 Command Line Tools.

However I can’t see Xcode 14.2 in the Settings.

I had no chance, but to use Xcode instead of Command Line Tools. I downloaded XCode 14.2

And unachived and renamed to Xcode 14.2

I tried to build with Xcode 14.2 Command Line tools in Xcode 14.3.

But Xcode emit same build error.

So I retried with Xcode_14.2 and succeed.

I can’t find way to solve the error with Xcode 14.3 yet.
I asked to stackoverflow and react-native, but no reply.

Pre-Actions

I found a solution. The reason is pre-actions.
I found Pre-actions from project.

The script ran shell script to modify TurboModuleUtils.h

find node_modules/react-native/ReactCommon/turbomodule/core/TurboModuleUtils.h -exec sed -i "" -e '/folly/d' {} +

I removed the action and this error has gone.

References

https://developer.apple.com/download/all/?q=xcode%2014.2

--

--