Making things more simple & efficient

Tyler Patterson
4 min readFeb 7, 2015

When asked how I manage day to day activities, or new subjects, projects and work, I typically go at them in a very similar way. In fact, I go at them the same way I play video games. Strategy, tactics, planning and efficiency are all items I take into account.

A Thought Out Strategy: This is something I do almost subconsciously, but when I start something new this is where I usually start. I take the best strategies that I have learned in the past and apply them to whatever I am doing next. I don’t dive in head first and submerse myself into subject matter that I don’t know anything about. When people say they do this I get confused. I believe you need a strategy for learning something new before you know anything about it because this will help you from getting lost in the content.

For instance, when I start playing a new video game, I tend to play the same way I would in a similar game. If the game is FPS — I will play it like a past FPS. If it is a roll playing game, I usually pick similar character types or quest options. This allows me to put into place what I have learned in the past and build upon it. This is how I go at my work. I build on what worked on past projects and I learn from my mistakes to produce the best outcome possible. Whether in-game or in real life I feel that more people need to apply a thought out strategy to what they are going to work on or play.

Proven Tactics: What works best for the situation I am in? Well I learned this, again, from what I have worked on in the past. I’ll explain this in a short story.

Gaming has always been an important aspect of my life. Sports, video gaming, card games and board games have all taught me something that I can leverage for work and play. When playing video games I know that people are playing for their love of just playing, win or lose. But when good tactics are applied, your team will most likely win. Winning makes gaming more fun. Now please don’t attack me by saying that it doesn’t matter if you win or lose as long as you’re having fun. I get that. To me that is a solo-sport ideology. If you’re playing for rank, playoffs or to keep a streak going, then by all means, do what you can to win. Build on creative, effective tactics that will help you win. Winning is fun. Gaming is fun. Losing can be fun but isn’t as rewarding.

Apply what the tactics that are tried and true. This will get you farther with your personal and professional work.

Planning: This is similar to strategy but is the bigger picture. I have always been a planner and you can see this portrayed in my love for mapping out directions. Navigation is great, but whatever happened to looking at maps? Nick Offerman has a section in his book Paddle Your Own Canoe where he explains his love for using maps. Looking at a map and determining the best route beforehand is a great way to become more familiar with your surroundings and will better your overall planning.

When you have a plan you can have backup plans or alternate options. Something to fall back on. Planning also gives you something to look forward to. Plan for simple things such as going to a movie on a Saturday night, where you will eat or how you’re going to make time to get your car’s oil change. Plan it all, no matter how little. Once again, this works for me. Doesn’t have to work for you, especially if you believe in living in the moment (listen to Pauly Shore’s latest appearance on Nerdist to get a better understanding of what it really means to live in the moment. Squirrrrlayyyyy). So go ahead, start planning and making the best of your days.

All of these come together for efficiency. Efficiency is probably my favorite word out of all of these because it boils everything down to its most simple state. Efficiency is really making things simple. Simplicity makes everything easier to do. Now don’t take this is a cheap way to go about things. Making things simple is incredibly hard to do. You may have to work weeks, months, years to create or make something simple. But once it’s simple you’ll be happier with it. Einstein, of course, knew what this meant.

If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.

or

“Everything must be made as simple as possible. But not simpler.” Albert Einstein

Making things simple does not make it stupid, less credible or cheap. It makes things more efficient. I try to work this into everyday activities where even the most mundane tasks are made more simple. I take certain roads to get where I’m going, even though it may not make sense to others at first. I could have changed the oil in my car myself, but with no space to do so and in 20 degree weather, I took it to professionals to get it done in about half the time. I use this to make work more efficient to save other’s time and money.

I know these are summed down to very vague examples and are specific to me, but I know others can adopt similar habits. It can be as simple as using your blinker correctly or planning your trip to work. You can start small and build up to something greater, making life more efficient and simple. And if you don’t care to make life this way, then by all means do what you do.

--

--