Remembering a Rare Private Moment with My North Korean Tour Guide

Tobias Goebel
2 min readJul 27, 2017

--

I remember a rare private moment I had with one of the two North Korean tour guides, Mr. Lee, that always followed each of our steps. I told him how in Germany (I still lived in Germany back in 2009 when I visited the DPRK) issues of public interest or concern are discussed in the public; in the newspapers, on TV, on the radio, in the parliament. And that a decision is then made by the government after hearing all the pros and cons. He thoughtfully nodded his head, pursing his lips in surprise, just saying “huh…”. It is of course a total foreign and unimaginable idea for someone living in a totalitarian state. I don’t know what he thought, whether he believed me, even understood what I said, whether he seriously pondered over what he heard and wondered how that would work. He didn’t know anything else but the dear leader making every decision in his country, without consulting the public.

Our bus driver, lovely Ms. Kim (tour guide #1 wearing a fake Gucci jacket), and Mr. Lee (tour guide #2)

http://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2017/07/24/how-to-take-down-kim-jong-un-215411

This article is a very thorough and thoughtful analysis of the situation, presenting the only solution that exists to solving the North Korean crisis. No war, no sanctions, no locking out can bring these people to freedom. Only education and knowledge. It will take time, but unless we want millions dead, it’s the only way. Read this when you have some time. And spread it.

Oh and Silicon Valley, if you’re listening: this is a true problem you can help solve (read till the end of the linked article to see what I mean). Not creating an IoT gadget on my wrist that tells me if I’m happy or sad through color coding. You want to disrupt the world? Here’s your chance.

Practicing Völkerverständigung

--

--

Tobias Goebel

Conversational AI practitioner and thinker. 16+ years of experience in Contact Center, Mobile, Telephony, Customer Service tech. I know that I know nothing.