Solving the Burnout Problem

Timothy Kirkpatrick
8 min readDec 17, 2018

Like most people starting out in ministry, I was responsible for the “junk-drawer” of the church. Most interns in any business or non-profit have experienced the “junk-drawer” job description. In a church, that meant anything that was not preaching, counseling, or “big ministry” items fell to me. This usually meant cleaning, organizing, small Bible studies, and lawn care. The church had 30 acres and an old ride-behind lawnmower that took about 4 days to cut the entire property. That was when it would work. I had experience mowing grass, but I did not have experience in fixing lawnmowers. Fortunately, one of the pastors taught me how to quickly identify the problems, which was actually the hardest part of fixing a small engine. Identifying the problem is usually the hardest part of fixing the problem. The pastor explained if you have a problem with your lawnmower or motorcycle not starting, you can trace it back to a problem with one of four things: Fuel, Fire, Air, Compression. There is an issue with one of those four things, and usually in that order. The solution may not be easy, but identifying the problem can be that simple.

So how does that relate to burnout? Through my own life and through the last 20 years of working with hundreds of leaders in businesses, non-profits, and ministries, I have seen burnout come and go. The severity of burnout varies, as do the stages and levels of leaders…

--

--

Timothy Kirkpatrick

My goal is to help others do exactly what they are designed to do. From helping publish books to helping transition organizational cultures, I’m with you.