How Addictive is Flipboard Magazine Making?

Terry Porter
Flipboard Users Publication
2 min readNov 6, 2015

When Flipboard first announced their personal magazines feature back in 2013, I immediately knew I wanted to create two mags to take advantage of this great new visual format:

Buoyant

Buoyant Flipboard Magazine

And

Dock of the Bay

Dock of the Bay Flipboard Magazine

I still update these Flipboard magazines every single day with new photos on those subjects. They were the start of my nautical magazine brand.

Then I decided to create a couple more mags, thinking that I could easily handle four. I soon realized the pagebox (magazine view) on my Flipboard profile had room for 8 and soon more mags were made. I remember promising myself to stop at an even dozen and then a baker’s dozen!

Is Flipboard magazine making addictive? I now have 106 Flipboard mags! And another dozen that I am a contributor to. Remembering that I need to have a passion for the magazine topic has helped me weed out a few that I am not really devoted to.

I do love curating on Flipboard, the ideal visual format for all kinds of passions. And Flipboard has made magazines for private groups a reality, which means I have even more ideas for mags…

Visit the Flipboard for Business group on Facebook, and lets talk more about Flipboard mags. If you are new to Flipboard, you will find this User Guide by the Flipboard Club super useful! And follow me on Flipboard.

--

--