Tracy Atkinson
10 min readJan 11, 2019

--

Managing Social Anxieties

I’m not a psychologist or therapist. I’m actually a teacher. However, I found myself struggling with social anxieties.

I frequent to the place where I was being bullied. I’m not sure exactly how much I want to go into it. If at all. There doesn’t seem to be a reason to focus on the negatives of life. However, I did realize then after a while I began to suffer from anxieties. I worried about stepping into that building. I could hardly stand it. I realized that I was becoming immobilized. I started looking for solutions to the problems. This is what I have discovered that helped me to overcome and to manage my social anxieties deriving from this situation.

At one time or another everyone has experienced anxieties. Sometimes they just maybe an impairment, an impairment to really enjoy life at its fullness and other times it may occur when there’s some kind of social interaction or specific situation. You may realize that your pulse quickens. Your anxiety anxiety increases. Even though it’s supposed to be an enjoyable event. These are times when it may come to a point where you even feel like you may be immobilized completely. That you simply cannot handle what’s going on.

The American Psychiatric Association states that there is a criteria for the classification of social anxiety.

  • First, a marked fear or anxiety about social situations.

--

--

Tracy Atkinson

Learning in everyday experiences thru humor and positivity.