I Used Notion For A Week. 8 Reasons I Switched Back To OneNote

Do you want a multitool or a notebook?

Tracy Cooper-Posey
6 min readJul 2, 2022

--

blocked blank journal, leather bound, cup of black coffee, pencils, sharpener, ipad, on wooden desk.
luminastock at DepositPhotos

If you’re shopping for a new notebook app, and you are a writer, read on.

You might find this breakdown illuminating, for this covers the nitty-gritty of using both Notion and OneNote (Desktop 2016 version).

Notebooks are essential tools for all writers. Yet the choice between electronic notebooks isn’t clear-cut, especially if you’re relying on other people’s opinion and research or polls. Little quirks in an app that you might consider a deal-breaker could be completely overlooked by the reporter(s).

I switched to 100% paperless about ten years ago, when I started using OneNote. In the last year or so, I’ve been gradually upping my note-taking game to build a Second Brain, or Personal Knowledge Management (PKM) system. Almost no one talks about using OneNote for a Second Brain or PKM, which made me wonder if I should switch apps.

OneNote is the grandfather of notebook apps (it’s 15 years old). I wondered if I was missing out on great features. As I’ve been using notebook apps for over a decade, I know what features I need — the deal-breakers. But if I could keep those and reap new ones, that would justify a switch.

--

--

Tracy Cooper-Posey

Writer, author, editor, publisher, cancer survivor. 200+ books, 100s of articles. Indie publishing, productivity, fiction writing.