CS 373 Fall 2023: Truc Tran

Truc Tran
2 min readAug 26, 2023

--

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Ba Ria-Vung Tau, Vietnam

What high school did you attend?

I attended Vo Thi Sau High School in Vietnam

What was your favorite extracurricular activity in high school?

I volunteered to assist students who are struggling with Math and Chemistry subjects.

Why did you come to UT?

I came to UT because UT Computer Science is ranked as a top-ten CS department nationally and also it is close to my house.

Why are you majoring in CS?

I am majoring in CS because I like coding and problem-solving.

Why are you in this class?

I am enrolled in CS 373, Software Engineering, with the intention of acquiring specialized knowledge in this field. My primary goals include deepening my understanding of software design, database management, as well as enhancing my communication skills and ability to work effectively within a team.

What are your expectations of this class?

I hope to learn new technologies for building web applications.

How much do you know about Javascript/Python/SQL/Web programming?

I am currently enrolled in a full-stack course, where I have completed several projects focused on web applications. I have gained some knowledge in JavaScript, SQL, and web programming. I have previous experience working with Python in a Data Mining class, it has been quite some time, so my proficiency in Python is currently moderate.

How did you like the first lectures?

I experienced a slight sense of confusion when introduced to Docker, as it was my first time learning about it. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the first lecture, as Dr. Downing provided clear explanations.

How did you feel about the cold calling?

I understand that the purpose of cold calling is to assess students’ comprehension and encourage critical thinking. However, I must admit that I feel somewhat nervous when I am not entirely familiar with the concept being discussed.

What do you think about specification grading?

I believe that specification grading is equitable and serves as a motivator for students to distribute their efforts equally among different parts of the assignment.

What made you happy this week?

I did not have many assignments for this week.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week is https://learn.mongodb.com website which provides a free NoSQL database course.

--

--