Rise of Empires: Ottoman, Season Two Review

Transylvanian
8 min readApr 11, 2023

A surprisingly good show

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

In January 2023, on Netflix aired the second season of Rise of Empires: Ottoman, covering the life and deeds of Sultan Mehmed the Conqueror, one of the greatest and most feared rulers ever produced by the House of Osman.

On the one hand, I was looking forward to watching this show, as this series was also covering the history of the country where I live, Romania.

On the other hand, I generally have a low opinion of Netflix’s original productions, so I had my aversions about how they will present the confrontation of Mehmed and Vlad Dracula.

Still, I gave it a try and overall was pleasantly surprised by the show. I am not much of a fan of ratings, but if I had to do it, I’d give a 7,5, which coming from me, is a very generous score.

As one final note to this introduction, some may ask why I review season two before season one. Well, the answer is easy, I haven’t seen season one yet, nor do I really plan to watch it in the nearby future.

The plot

Eight years have passed since Mehmed’s famous conquest of Constantinople. Basking in his success, the Ottomans Sultan is one, if not the most powerful ruler of the Balkans and Anatolia, when news of a coming Crusade reaches him.

--

--