The room where it happened

Jaimie R Murrow
I Have Complaints
Published in
2 min readAug 23, 2016

I think it’s important to have an understanding of the space.

Cut-off text reads: “Weird in-between room with nothing in it.”

Here is the apartment. I made the bathroom in the upper left corner look way bigger than it was. Give some of that mental space to the kitchen.

Before I came, I wanted to have a good idea of what my living arrangement would be for one month. They debated giving me the master bedroom, since that was the only room with an attached bathroom. In the end, I was given the room marked “my room” and had to walk across the whole fucking apartment whenever I had to use the bathroom.

I don’t disagree with how things ended up, considering there really wasn’t a better alternative.

I’m Not A Bitch, aside #1 — Over the phone, Jesse made it sound like giving me the master bedroom would be the most chill thing in the world. I think I would have been really uncomfortable had that ended up happening. The other rooms were much more suited to single sleepers.

And, I was told the shower in the master bathroom didn’t even work. This was determined to be a lie. (And I mean that in the meme sense of I don’t think they were lying, but it was revealed to be false. Wait, isn’t that what that meme communicates? Ah, memes.)

Besides the other bathroom wasn’t great either.

More about flooding bathrooms later.

--

--

Jaimie R Murrow
I Have Complaints

The story of my anxiety-ridden month in Jinan, China. Like all good stories, it has a happy ending. Like all my favorite stories, some of it ends in tragedy.