High Maintenance Flight Attendant

Traveling With Tanisha
5 min readJul 31, 2024

--

Travel is a lifestyle with countless facets, from agents and writers to bloggers and flight attendants. I recently had the opportunity to chat with High Maintenance Jazz from High Maintenance CO, a passionate flight attendant with a love for exploration. Juggling motherhood and a global career, Jazz has become a digital creator, sharing invaluable travel tips, off-the-beaten-path destinations, and her insights on balancing work and family life.

Meet High Maintenance Jazz who is a flight attendant and a mother of two. She has a passion for travel and everyday adventures, which she shares with over 58K followers as a digital creator. Join High Maintenance Jazz as she shares travel tips from industry experts, hidden destination gems, and advice on balancing work and mom life as best as I can.

High Maintenance Jazz

Traveling with Tanisha: What inspired you to pursue a career as a flight attendant?

High Maintenance Jazz: I was inspired to become a flight attendant, honestly because I just wanted to get away. I was in a very toxic relationship, experiencing domestic violence, postpartum, you name it. I just felt like I just needed an escape from it all. I filled out two applications in the middle of the night for two major airlines. Now, I know there are hiring waves and only specific dates and times you can apply to certain airlines. I had no knowledge of this when I was applying. But they just happened to open when the idea came to me. It was like I was just sitting there and God sat next to me and said just do it!!! All the doubts I could think of filled my head but I did it anyway. I wasn’t hired for the first airline I applied to. For a second, it discouraged me. I had made it through the rigorous interview process and flowed to another state just to be turned down. I was high-key pissed, I thought “God now you put this idea in me for this outcome?” I was overly prepared. I did so much research and practiced interviewing the whole nine. But the next day I got an email with an invite to interview with my current airline. At first, I was like, no I’m not going to do this. I started to fill myself with self-doubt again especially after getting denied from the first one. But it was something bigger in me that said, “just go Jazz the worst they can say is no and you heard that already it didn’t kill you!” I went and I was so grateful for my experience of getting denied because I went in that one with so much shine and confidence that I was not leaving without a yes. And that’s exactly what I got.

Traveling with Tanisha: What do you enjoy most about being a flight attendant?

High Maintenance Jazz: What I enjoy the most about this career is the perspective it gives me on life and myself. Yes, it gets rough some days especially balancing motherhood as well it’s not extremely common in the aviation industry. However, my support system has been amazing and I think they see how important this was for me as well. But since the beginning this career, I’ve become confident in myself, a woman of determination. I’m better with my time management, which I was never on time for anything. But more importantly, the destinations I’ve got to explore. I remember one trip looking out the window on a layover to the mountains in Honduras just thinking wow Jazz the world is yours don’t ever play yourself small again! I told myself, “There is so much out there to see to become, you’ve made that mistake once and you learned from it because look where it’s gotten you.” It’s also the different people I meet and the conversations I get to have whether it’s in some random city at a hotel bar or a passenger I’m serving biscotti cookies to. These things has helped shape my new mindset in a way as well and made me love what I do.

Traveling with Tanisha: Can you give us a brief overview of your new eBook?

High Maintenance Jazz: I created an eBook to help those wanting to get started in this career regardless of their reason. I learned how competitive it is and how important it is to be prepared. I want them to go in armed and ready to go. I sat for hours looking through airline websites, watching YouTube videos, you name it preparing for my interviews. This eBook is packed with knowledge and experience and sets you up for navigating the application process, preparing for interviews, and understanding job requirements and expectations. And there are even tips for surviving flight attendant training. It’s your go-to resource for turning your aspiration for entering this career into reality. I know if this little black girl from the hood can do it so can anyone else!!!

Traveling with Tanisha: How can we contact you?

High Maintenance Jazz:

Instagram: @highmaintenancejazz

My Blog Post

Please be sure to be on the lookout for my travel wear line in upcoming months at https://shophighmaintenance.co/

Live Life & Travel

Tanisha Mackin — Traveling with Tanisha

--

--