Java I/O Basics: Day 13 — Understanding Java Input and Output

Krishna
Javarevisited
Published in
2 min readJan 29, 2024

Welcome to Day 13 of our 30-Day Java Challenge! Today, we’ll explore the basics of Input/Output (I/O) in Java. Java I/O API offers a rich set of features to handle reading and writing data, crucial for interaction with users, files, and other systems.

Exploring Java I/O Classes

The Java I/O API is mainly divided into two packages: java.io for file I/O and java.util for console I/O.

Streams in Java

  • InputStream / OutputStream: Used for reading and writing binary data.
  • Reader / Writer: Used for reading and writing text (character) data.

Reading and Writing to a File

  • FileReader / FileWriter: These classes are used for reading from and writing to character files.

Console I/O

  • Scanner: Commonly used for reading input from the console.
  • System.out: Used for writing output to the console.

Example: Writing to and Reading from a File

Practice Example 1: Text File Writer

Practice Example 2: File Reader

Java’s I/O capabilities are a cornerstone for building interactive applications. Understanding how to handle file operations and user inputs is crucial for any Java developer. Join us on Day 14, where we’ll explore Java Serialization.

Happy Coding!

--

--

Krishna
Javarevisited

Committed to learning and sharing knowledge, I write articles and teach about the latest in tech and software development. I love travelling and photography!