Road Bumps with My New iPhone 14 Pro Max

Travis Capener
4 min readSep 24, 2022

I just got an iPhone 14 Pro Max and I migrated the apps and settings from my old iPhone 8+. A day later I’m ecstatic with how things turned out, but there were a few road bumps that I haven’t seen mentioned in other reviews.

Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

When you need to migrate from one iPhone to another, it’s a simple process of plugging them both into power, making sure Bluetooth is on then putting the two phones side-by-side and giving them permission to do the migration. My old phone had about 128Gb of data, so the process took about an hour.

Apple’s migration process is so complete that I want it to be 100% perfect — but there are some reasonable limitations when it comes to hardware and security. Most of these were minor inconveniences to solve.

Apple Wallet

When the migration was done, my iPhone prompted me to set up my Apple Wallet. I had to re-scan my debit and credit cards. I think this is pretty normal. You want a lot of control over your methods of payment and perhaps auto migration isn’t a good idea.

What I wasn’t expecting was having to reenter my government vaccination certificates. I had to dig out the QR codes I got after my vaccinations and re-scan them with the Camera app. The hard part was finding the QR codes again; the easy part was scanning them in. I just pointed the camera at…

--

--

Travis Capener

A developer, writer, and corporate trainer from Toronto, Canada. I use React, JavaScript, Node.js, and SQL. I was a Java/J2EE developer. I ❤ Boxers (dogs).