I’m wired for illustration

Travis Foster
3 min readJun 1, 2016

--

It comes naturally. Drawing as a kid was one of my favorite ways to spend time. I played baseball, backyard football, shot hoops, played chess, was on the wrestling team, however I excelled in drawing and apart from cutting grass found my first real paying job doing caricatures at sixteen. I drew all the time, even in class when I was supposed to be learning geometry I was drawing caricatures in class. Choosing art school over university was a good decision, Ringling provided an excellent foundation, I’m glad I attended, we had strong fundamental training in figure drawing, drawing from life, color and design, painting. I have fond memories and made several friends there. Many artists from Ringling I stay in contact with today.

When I graduated, I had a couple of viable options, work at Hallmark or an internship with Disney Animation, however I decided that freelance illustration, opening my own studio and moving back to Nashville was what I wanted to do. I never looked back, 27 years later I have never regretted that decision. Working for myself, creating art that I enjoy, five days a week has been a perfect fit. Here’s a few things that I enjoy about the freedom freelance provides.

Illustration can be rewarding financially. It’s true that the average annual income for a full time illustrator is in the $45,000 range, however I know that some make less and some make more, much more. I understand that some illustrators routinely make over $100,000 a year and a few artists in the top tier make over $200,000 a year. There are many factors that come into play, but some of the most important factors are the caliber of work with the combination of how productive or prolific an artist becomes in their regiment. Secondly, it’s about the type of clients the artist attracts and secures. To produce an illustration for ad campaign does not necessarily mean it takes more time than that of a magazine illustration and the ad assignment will pay on average three to five times more (or higher) than the editorial job. Illustrators are not paid by the hour, or for their time, they are simply compensated on how the illustration will be used, the usage.

Illustration provides freedom of schedule. As a freelance illustrator I can schedule my time as I need. Sarah and I have managed to home school four children during my career, that flexibility was important as I was heavily involved in their education and was working from home for many years while they were young. Now that the kids are getting older and I move into another chapter of my career by assisting younger artists build their careers through the agency, I can continue producing art and work as an agent at the same time, illustration provides flexibility. There is no clocking in, no one is looking over my shoulder. I sit down to work when it’s most convenient for me. I call the shots. This is freedom.

Life is about relationship, discovering those around you that build you up and bring encouragement. In return you learn to trust and hopefully give back to those that love you well. Being dependable, being trust worthy and consistent, being reliable, being kind and generous. I have many people in my life that are these things, they have demonstrated year after year that they care for me and they have allowed me to care for them. Reciprocity. It builds a strong community. I have many friends in the illustration and design community and I’m grateful. It is a smart group of people, generous folk.

This morning I will draw some pictures, I will send them to a client, the client will send me a check in the mail or wire the money. I do this five days a week, every week. It’s an amazing way to feed my family. I hope to be drawing and creating images for another 30 years if the good Lord allows.

Travis Foster is a freelance illustrator, illustration agent, cartoonist, husband and dad to four kids.

--

--