Winston’s Letter

Travis Foster
4 min readAug 1, 2023

--

artwork: Winston, Age 6, from Arkansas. Hand drawing sent to Travis Foster from Winston and his Grandmother, Debra. August 1, 2023.

August 1, 2023

This morning I received a kind note from Debra in Arkansas. Then a second letter followed from her Grandson, Winston. I asked permission from Debra to share our correspondence.

“I would be the coolest grandmother on the planet!”

Hi Travis, I’m a grandmother to a six-year-old reader, Winston. To say he has a love of reading is an understatement. I am gifting his class a series of books each month featuring different authors. I have purchased some of your books to feature, including Winston’s favorite, “Give Me Back My Book!” Would you consider writing Winston’s first-grade class a letter to encourage reading? It would positively impact the students, plus I would be “the coolest grandmother on the planet!” Debra from Arkansas.

Hi Debra, Yes. I will happily write a letter to Winston’s first-grade class at Woodrow Cummins Elementary; I am glad to have connected with you and Winston.

Photo of Winston writing and drawing, Age 6, Arkansas

Hello from Nashville

Dear Friends at Woodrow Cummins Elementary, how was your summer? Are you excited about the new school year and making new friends? Your classmate, Winston, sent me a letter. Winston’s grandmother, Debra, asked me to send you a letter. My name is Travis Foster, and I live in Nashville, Tennessee. Nashville is a 382-mile drive from Conway, Arkansas. My wife and I have four grown children. We enjoy spending time with our family and friends. I have been a professional artist for thirty-four years, and clients pay me to draw funny pictures, illustrations, and cartoons for magazines, books, and children’s books. I also write children’s books. Your parents can find my work and books on Amazon, and you can see more of my artwork at my website: www.travisfoster.com

When writing books for kids, I relax and enjoy imagining what it is like to read the book from a kid’s point of view. In other words, I try to think like a kid, which is fun. I enjoyed receiving Winston’s letter and look forward to staying in touch with his progress as a reader, writer, and artist. Winston has significant potential. Do any of you like to read, write or draw pictures?

It is said that if you want to become a good writer, it is important to become someone that enjoys reading. If you want to be an artist, it is important to enjoy the process of creating art.

I hope that you have a wonderful school year and that you enjoy the process of learning. I hope you will discover the joy of learning and that your mind will learn to go places when you read. In other words, when you read, you can enter the story and immerse yourself in the author’s world.

Your friend- Travis Foster

My mailing address: Travis Foster, 2420 Croker Springs Road, Goodlettsville, TN 37072

Letter to Winston and Woodrow Cummins Elementary, August 1, 2023.

August 5, 2023

Hi Travis,

We received your kind letters today! Thank you. I have to tell you that you have made a lifetime friend with Winston. He has a letter going out to you next week.

I have a variety of old Highlight magazines. I keep a few in my car so Winston always has something to read. Anyway, we combed through my magazines and found several pieces of your artwork. Winston was so excited.

Thanks again!

Debra

September 15, 2023

I received a nice note from Debra today and a photo of Winston creating more fun artwork. Way to go, Winston!

Winston creating artwork. September 2023. Fun in the Sun.

November 1, 2023

Dear Mr. Foster,

Winston here. This is my list;

1. A bookworm who lives underground in his own library. He buys books from the school book vending machine and reads them by flashlight. He wears glasses.

2. A Godzilla monster breathes his toxic fire on a building.

3. The word bugs written in bugs or maybe the word cat written like a cat.

I am still working on my comic book. I have one more page to do. My Mom is drawing the pictures, and I tell her what to write. We are busy, so I have to do it later.

WINston (I like writing my name that way now)

Photo of Winston, November 1st, 2023
Colored by: WINston, he also added a fishing pole and worms escaping. Great job, WINston! Travis Foster Coloring Books, www.travisfoster.com

Travis Foster is a children’s book author and illustrator who lives in Nashville, Tennessee. Travis has written and illustrated several children’s books, including Give Me Back My Book, I CAN Doodle Dots, I CAN Doodle Rhymes, and the Really Bird Series. His work has been featured in Highlights Magazine, Forbes, Reader’s Digest, and The Wall Street Journal. Publishers include Penguin Random House, Chronicle Books, Disney, and Red Comet Press. Website: travisfoster.com

--

--