So Long Material Components for the web!

Travis Kaufman
2 min readJun 23, 2017

--

For the last 1.5 years or so, I’ve had the honor and the privilege of serving as the Technical Lead for Material Components for the Web, fondly known as MDC-Web. With bittersweet feelings, I’d like to let everyone know that today is my last day on the MDC-Web team. Starting in July, I’ll be joining Google Cloud Platform to help build out their developer console with exciting new products and features (I’ll be taking a much-anticipated vacation before that 😎 🌴).

When Sérgio and I first spoke back in Winter 2016, we talked about taking MDL “v2” and turning it into the canonical Material Design UI library for the web. Since then, the project has evolved into its own product under the Material Components family, with hundreds of downloads per day on npm, thousands of stars on GitHub, and an amazing, ever-growing community of users and contributors that help us push the boundaries of Material Design on the web every single day.

It has been the greatest honor in my career thus far to build and serve such an amazing team of people. The MDC-Web team are not just expert web developers, but excellent communicators, brilliant problem solvers, and all-around amazing people to work with. Furthermore, working alongside the Google Design team while building MDC-Web has taught me invaluable lessons about UX for digital mediums that I know I’ll be able to take with me anywhere I go in my career.

I’d like to personally thank the entire MDC-Web core team — Alex, Yiran, Lynn, and especially Sérgio (emeritus; helped me build the initial version of MDC-Web from scratch) — for their amazing continued work on the product, and for allowing me the privilege to serve as their TL. I’d like to thank the entire Material Design team for giving me the opportunity to build MDC-Web in the first place. I’d like to thank Addy for helping to facilitate the collaboration between the Material Design team and Material Design Lite, which initially made this project possible, and definitely made it successful. And finally, a huge, HUGE thank you to our many contributors who take the time out of their busy schedules to help improve MDC-Web. People like you are the reason why I fell in love with Open Source and Software Engineering in the first place; it’s one of the few industries where you can altruistically improve the lives of everyone around you simply by being curious about how to solve a certain problem. ❤️

There are big things ahead for MDC-Web, so if you haven’t already, be sure to check out the project on GitHub and stay up-to-date with the latest and greatest the library has to offer! I know you won’t be disappointed doing so. ⚫️ ◽️ 🔺

--

--

Travis Kaufman

Software engineer specializing in UI / UX development. Proud New Yorker, lifelong learner. ⚡️Gryffindor ⚡️