The Writing Process

Travis Miller
2 min readDec 2, 2016

--

I’ve been writing in notebooks I keep over the years and over time I can see the progression of thoughts, achievements, and problems I’ve tried to solve over different projects. Writing has always been a part of my process.

When I think about it, for the most difficult problems I’ve encountered, I always go to pen and paper. It’s a way I can process information ‘’offline’ when I need to think through a problem that I can’t (yet) tackle on the computer. I’ve also balance this with reading and research and I often bounce back and forth between these methods. I could end up spending hours in one place just reading and writing.

Thinking about it now, when a project is a “success” you don’t record it, but you record the thought process of it, the right directions, the wrong wrongs and the things that may or may not work.

I’m taking the time to read in between the lines as I continue to make and collect notes. If I look long enough I may be able see something I missed.

Connecting Dots is a self-reflective series where I explore the places and experiences I’ve had in order to make connections between the things that inspire and motivate me today.

#connectingdots

--

--

Travis Miller

Web Designer, Developer & Bahamian native obsessed with design, strategy and building stuff with my own two hands. http://www.travismillerweb.com/