Treadmill Treats
4 min readFeb 24, 2018

I am proud of these young people standing up

I must admit I didn't have much hope for this generation, the generation of me, of entitlement, of we are all winners because God forbid, you call anyone losers.

Yes, I thought we raised a generation of spoiled brats but I have to tell you I am shocked that after this Parkland school shooting, how so many young people are standing up and speaking out.

Maybe this generation will be a revival of the seventies when young people were passionate about things, enough to protest and have a voice.

Maybe their voices will be heard around the world, maybe with all their technology, they will ignite a fire that will spread, that will go viral and make everyone take notice and listen.

They are of voting age, they can change it all, change everything with their voices, with their actions. We need to take notice of them and we need to stand behind them and cheer them on.

It only takes one person, one Martin Luther King, one Rosa Parks, one person to change things, to stand up and say enough is enough, we are not going to put up with this anymore!

So yes, on March 24, I will be there with them protesting, I will be there with my voice, voices that these children who were gunned down didn't have, didn't get a chance to use.

I will be there with my teachers, who work so hard with little pay and now have to worry about if they will come home at night to their families. I will be there with the parents who are now afraid to send their children to school and worry if they will see them again.

I will be there for the parents, the friends and the families who lost a loved one to this senseless act of hatred and for this next generation of world leaders.

I urge all of you to step up, to support these young people, to make our government, make a much needed change. I urge you to encourage your own children to get involved as this world will one day be theirs.

I urge you to change government policy by voting for officials that are willing to change policy or to run for office yourself, to make a change.

So to these new leaders, I stand up and applaud you.

To Cameron Kasky who said "We can respect that. We've lost people. It's important to mourn.Here's a time to talk about gun control: March 24. My message for the people in office is: You're either with us or against us. We are losing our lives while the adults are playing around."

To a Douglas High School sophomore named Sarah Chadwick, who informed the President of the United States, via his favorite medium, in words that quickly went viral,
“I don’t want your condolences you fucking piece of shit, my friends and teachers were shot"

To senior Ryan Deitsch probing of senator Rubio
"We would like to know why do we have to be the ones to do this? Why do we have to speak out to the (state) Capitol? Why do we have to march on Washington, just to save innocent lives?" His voice rising with each question.

Or my favorite student Emma Gonzalez, who has been outspoken about her opposition to semiautomatic rifles, who recently asked Loesch what the NRA's position was on bump stocks and making it more difficult to buy certain weapons.
She also spoke out in a press conference saying
"I found out today there's a website shootingtracker.com. Nothing in the title suggests that it is exclusively tracking the USA's shootings and yet does it need to address that? Because Australia had one mass shooting in 1999 in Port Arthur (and after the) massacre introduced gun safety, and it hasn't had one since. Japan has never had a mass shooting. Canada has had three and the UK had one and they both introduced gun control and yet here we are, with websites dedicated to reporting these tragedies so that they can be formulated into statistics for your convenience" and her amazing chant "I call B.S!"

Yes, people this is our future and from where I stand it is looking bright. Thank you to all of you, for standing up, for being the voices that are no longer here, for being the voice of compassion and reason in a world so out of control, we are behind you and we are so proud of you!

"Be the change you want to see"

"And just when the caterpillar thought his life over...he turned into a beautiful butterfly"

**Coming soon my latest book:
The blessing in disguise.... revealed**

***Now available***
My book The blessing in Disguise
Selling on my website:

Http://www.treadmilltreats.com

And on Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0692437398/ref=mp_s_a_1_13?qid=1462358109&sr=1-13&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=the+blessing+in+Disguise

http://www.am6azon.com/gp/aw/d/0692437398/ref=mp_s_a_1_12?qid=1434452632&sr=8-12&pi=AC_SX110_SY165_QL70&keywords=the+Blessing+in+Disguise

My weekly Youtube page, please subscribe:
https://youtu.be/LDSXCFJVnzM

Twitter: treadmill treats
Instragram: treadmilltreats
Facebook :treadmill treats

Treadmill Treats

*Writer* Blogger * Motivational Speaker* http://www.treadmilltreats.com Instagram YouTube Facebook Twitter @TreadmillTreats