Treadmill Treats
3 min readJul 10, 2023

--

Prayer changes things

I am a huge believer in that prayer changes things.
This is when you believe in something bigger than you, in something you cannot see but you still have a deep faith.

Prayer has been part of life. To me, it's like breathing. It's just what I do. But trust me, my faith walk has evolved, and so have my prayers.
I used to just pray about me and the things I wanted or needed. I was always grateful but never prayed for others.

When I got divorced, I was at a Sunday service, and the Bishop said you needed to pray for others, even your enemies. He said (Yes, and I can't make this up). You should even pray for your exes.

I am thinking, is he nuts? This man who made my life miserable and robbed me in the divorce? This man who never apologized and still thinks he did nothing wrong? Him? I should pray for him? Oh hell no, he should pray I don't wring his neck! Hell, I am praying he gets hit by a bus! Yes, I said this out loud to my church husband, who said it was not very Christian of me, but I was new in my walk then. God, I really really miss his stupid butt.

He said we needed to pray for them so that we may get our blessings. Well, I am a good student of my bishop, and I listened. So I prayed for him. I prayed he would change his ways. I prayed he forgave me and himself for what happened in our marriage as I had done.
Then , I started praying for others as well. I prayed for my family, my friends, my co-workers who have closed minds, and everyone who did me wrong. Yes, even Mr.Con Artist. I told you, I started praying for everyone.

Every night, I prayed for so many people until it became natural. It wasn't just about me. It was becoming a blessing to others. I remember right after this message, my bestie texted and said she wasn't coming to the gym because she was going to a prayer circle. I said okay then a second later, I texted back and said," Please pray for me and two other friends I knew needed it. "

Yes, I am so in tune with prayers that I have others pray for people I know.
Well, after that text, somehow, I was so peaceful at work. My other friend said she also had a peace over her, and she didn't know why. My third friend took a huge step to changing their life and sounded so very happy that night.

Really, prayer doesn't work? I prayed that God would take my drugs and alcohol problems and my cigarette problem. I prayed he would give me courage and strength to change my life.
I prayed about my business when I had no job. I prayed about my home and my children when they got into trouble, and I am standing here as living proof that yes, prayer changes everything.

Ever notice how lately as you scroll down Facebook or other blogs that more and more people are posting about prayer and God? If not, now you will notice it.
Yes, more and more people are believing in this. Look at the basis of the book, The Secret. You put out what you want, and it comes back. Like attracts like.
I am here to give my gratitude that my prayers helped others and that when my bestie prayed for us, God answered all of our prayers.

So today, my friends, let us forgive those who have hurt you. Then pray for the haters in your life, pray for you enemies, pray, pray, pray....because prayer changes things.

"Be the change you want to see"
@TreadmillTreats

--

--

Treadmill Treats

*Writer* Blogger * Motivational Speaker* http://www.treadmilltreats.com Instagram YouTube Facebook Twitter @TreadmillTreats