Treasure-Iyunade Babalola
2 min readOct 30, 2023

to breathe or to not breathe?

credit:Pinterest

Sometimes, I find myself questioning the wisdom of science, wondering if it could be mistaken. It's strange, you know? There are moments when I forget that I'm breathing, yet I am. Breathing used to be as natural as the rhythm of life itself, but now, it can feel like a chore.

As I draw in each breath, I'm reminded of the thousand things that seem wrong with me. Science tells us that breathing is crucial for the human body, a sign of life. But I can't help but wonder who designed life this way. Who decided that after school, we must follow a certain path, get a job, and play by the rules? Why does the structure of life feel so rigid?

Why do we tie our happiness to money? Is there not more to life than wealth? Can money truly measure a person's value? These questions weigh on my mind, and at times, it feels like I'm just rambling.

I find myself asking one fundamental question: who created the systems and structures of our society? It's a question that lingers in my thoughts, like an unfinished melody. And I wonder once more, should I continue to breathe, or should I resist societal patterns? Breathing against the norm is seen as irresponsible, but not breathing when expected can be deemed as greed and a lack of contentment.

Perhaps something is broken within us all, and deep down, we're yearning for a chance to start anew.

Treasure-Iyunade Babalola

Journeying through life's tracks, I'm a Nigerian wordsmith weaving faith, insights, and personal growth. My mind's an unstoppable train on an endless ride!