For After The Pandemic

Trevor Anthony
4 min readOct 19, 2020
Sad African American woman with face mask sitting on the floor
Accept the COVID-19 pandemic for what it is. (Source: AdobeStock)

The phrase, “…for after the pandemic” inspired this article.

My fellow MEDIUM writer Jennifer Russell’s most excellent and humorous article had me chuckling this morning. Buried in her piece was that phrase. I won’t lie, I lifted it to use as the starting point for this article. For that, Jennifer, I am very grateful.

“For after the pandemic.”

As if this is happening anytime soon, an ending to COVID-19, to the misery, to the “new” normal.

Manage expectations, in your own mind and for those who you hold most dear. This thing ain’t ending anytime soon. Period. When it does, I’m guessing it will be barely noticeable. Unlike the movie that ends when it says, “The END” or the credits begin rolling or the Marvel universe shares some post-movie-ending snippets of the Superheroes eating souvlaki, COVID-19 won’t have a finite ending point.

What about COVID-21? Yeah, that. Like the common cold, this thing could potentially morph into a different type of COVID next year. Hellah yeah. Where will we be then?

I’m sure there are psychologists who can help us understand the underlying psychological concepts that makes us humans think the way we do, you know, about an ongoing pandemic with no end in sight yet we all keep saying things like, “When this is over…” or, “I’m saving this whisky for…

--

--