Trevor Smiley
3 min readMay 19, 2015

We went to the Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada today for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. There was a lot more than I expected but didn’t have as many different things as the Vancouver aquarium.

Of course we looked for Nemo. There was even a tank specifically setup with the different fish from Finding Nemo for the kids.

Slowmotion jellyfish

They had some nice setups for the jellyfish with accent lighting that changed colour slowly as you watched them.

My favourite part about the exhibit was the shark tanks. You went on a slow moving sidewalk that went under and through the tanks so that the sharks, rays, and fish were swimming all around you. I was too busy using my RX100 to snap pics so I didn’t grab any on my phone, I’ll be posting those later when I get time.

Some of the tanks felt small for the fish, others felt big enough. I don’t know enough to know if they should be bigger, maybe we’ll see a spinoff documentary about the small fish in aquariums.

When we left I took the obligatory pic of the CN Tower.

Forgot to use Lenka for a black and white picture and since you can’t import them I edited this one in iOS. Surprising how well the iOS editing works. All they need is curves and it could be a great editor.

Trevor Smiley

i heart @Jusdayne, cars, computers, cameras and movies