Meet the Team — Community Support Lead

Force Protocol
3 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

Tyrin Davidson, Community Support TriForce Tokens

Say hi to the community support manager of TriForce Tokens, Tyrin Davidson.

Due to the rising uncertainty with the crypto space, scams are becoming more innovative and scarily realistic. TriForce Tokens wants to open its doors to the community and allow them to really get to know the team that are behind this innovative project.

If you are unaware of TriForce Tokens, we strongly recommend checking out our website here.

TriForce Tokens is empowering the gaming community by building completely new ways for gamers to engage with developers and each other. Our single, Blockchain-driven platform gives users the ability to generate revenues from collaborative game play. That helps independent games studios to create more successful titles and gamers to get real new value from gaming — unlocking exciting new monetisation opportunities in a positive and profitable community.

So, tell us about yourself Tyrin…

My name is Tyrin Davidson, better known within League of Legends as ‘DandyChap’. I first rose to attention in 2014, where I had begun regularly streaming and building a viewer-base, reaching the rank of Challenger on the game, the highest rank in the game reserved for only the Top 200 on the server out of the many millions that play on the competitive ladder.

Although I was regularly playing competitive matches with and against professional players, my options were limited on progressing my career due to my champion pool severely lacking (I only played one champion to a professional level, where most would need at least five at the highest standard to be considered a good option for joining a professional team).

Despite this, I was offered the chance to trial for a team with some extremely talented individuals, a couple of whom now play in the LCS, LoL’s professional circuit. To my surprise, the manager of the team offered me a spot on the roster, and I graciously accepted the opportunity. I stopped streaming to focus on building up my skills and working with my team.

For the next 6 months, I played almost every single day with my team, practicing for hours as long as any working day, usually spending some time talking about our plans for the day, playing a few sets of scrims against different teams, before wrapping it up with a couple of hours of video reviews of our games that day to discuss what we did well and what we needed to improve on.

The hard work began to pay off. I noticed a huge improvement in my personal skill, as well as an upgrade in the skill of the team as a whole. Despite our success in many online tournaments, we were unable to compete in the qualifiers for the gateway league that fed teams into the LCS due to a sudden ruling change that meant two of our players were too young to compete. This was a huge concern for us as we needed to wait an entire year to qualify.
My teammates and I decided not long after to part ways at different intervals.

Two left before me, and two left after. My newfound competitive experience opened up new doors for me, however, and I was offered contracts in the UK scene. I joined a team called Team Infused, who are best known for their success in the Counter Strike and Call of Duty professional circuits.

From 2015 onwards, I competed in the UK scene on multiple different teams, with varying levels of success. In early 2017 I paused from competing in teams due to time restrictions and began focusing on private coaching instead.

Now, in 2018, I have plans to return to my original passion within League of Legends: Streaming. I am going to set a schedule and will be aiming to stream daily in the evenings, and regrow my viewer-base.

Interview with Tyrin Davidson, Community Support Lead

--

--

Force Protocol

Bringing our love of blockchain, crypto and gaming together. Visit our website https://forceprotocol.io.