Reading a book a week (or two)

A challenge by my fiancée

trisected
2 min readAug 19, 2018

I have a ton of books. By a ton, I mean, my unread book list goes beyond 10, it might be in it’s 20–30 amounts. Sadly enough, I have been struggling to find time to read. With even more sadness and disappointment, because of this growing booklist, I’m running out of space on my shelves for more books.

An ink painting of my messy shelf, by me

As such, my better half has come with a better suggestion: finish the books you have already.

I’m not one to shy away from challenges. Come on! Bring it! I have an award winning reading speed (award yet not awarded), I’ll do it for sure!

All this trash talk has to happen, because I need my own personal pep talk. My own reason to fight for my book reading time. My spot on my tight schedule, to clear a book a week.

And I’m going to do it, as best I can. Because it’s no more about listening to podcasts about which book to read, it’s about reading it. No more “this goes on the back burner”, no excuse of “I’ve got no time”, “how do I fit this into my schedule”. These excuses don’t exist because I’ve got books to read. A personal literary mountain to conquer.

I’m writing about it here as part of the process: I will review the book that I’ve read, and how I feel about the challenge so far. If all goes well, I’ll have a good range of articles. If it doesn’t go well, I’ll have a good range of articles (I hope).

Stay tuned, because the next article is coming really really soon… (I just finished a book)

--

--

trisected

Joel as Trisected sharing stories, experiences, thoughts and opinions