Mindfulness

Trisha
5 min readJul 29, 2023

--

These days, it’s like universe or some higher power wants to cheer me up by sending small gifts and gestures in various forms. Wanted to share this because these were small things, which became special because I was totally living in the present moment. If that’s the bonus of living mindfully in the here and now, isn’t it worth to give it a try ?☺️

Living in the present moment becomes easier for me when I’m in nature. This might vary from person to person. You need to find your own zone which makes you slip into “the now” easily.

The first thing I usually do after waking up is, peeping out of my window, which opens into the backyard of my house. A few days ago, (summer morning) I was surprised by a fully bloomed tree with white flowers in the backyard, smiling back at me in the morning as if waiting to give me a surprise! Of Course that worked! and I couldn’t help but admiring it in aw…A day before, it had just 2 flowers, so I was amazed to see it’s sudden progress of around 10–15 of those beautiful white flowers on that green bush, it definitely made me smile😇 as if saying “Good Morning!”

Later in the afternoon, I was sitting in my backyard speaking to a friend on phone when a rabbit came hopping aiming for its perfect bite of green grass. It was so endearing, watching him eat. It used to be extremely shy but that day, he seemed to have dropped all barriers and became friendly. After filling his appetite, off he went.

Photo by Satyabratasm on Unsplash

A few moments later, I was yet again surprised by a white butterfly around those white flowers. I was just mesmerized by the colour contrast and beauty of nature when another pair of butterflies(white) came and their playfulness made me smile. They initially started rolling around each other and finally after a beautiful dance performance they sat on a leaf in union. In that moment, I literally looked up and smiled at the sky in gratitude as if someone had a remote operating from the sky to deliver this special and lovely sight, just for me. I felt so blessed but as I went closer to captivate the moment in my camera, I disturbed them and they flew away biding me a quick good-bye.

Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

Around 3 days later, on a sunny afternoon, just as I stepped out from my house, a poplar seed came slowly shining in the sunlight and rested for a while on my palms and as it was ready to take off, I didn’t show any resistance. I felt like doing an act of surrender when we just leave everything on God or some higher power with a faith that whatever is ours will anyways come to us. With that thought I just let that the seed fly away.

By the evening, the weather was amazing. Wind was blowing and as I stood outside, I could see many poplar seeds floating around when came a pair of these magical, white, beautiful, shiny seeds glued together, suspended in air, right in front of me. I just smiled and soon it passed away with the wind.

Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

Soon it became cloudy. There was a thunderstorm warning. It started drizzling followed by cold refreshing breeze and all the trees in the backyard started making their unique sounds as wind brushed through their leaves. After a few strokes of lightning and heavy rain, it became shiny because the rain helped to clear the sky a bit, for the setting Sun to shine. The beautiful, golden setting Sun shone on the top of huge trees leaving the bottom half of those trees in a different coloured tone. In a few minutes I was so excited to see the rainbow just from my backyard. I again felt blessed to have witnessed a scene for which some people travel miles and visit holiday destinations however all I did was went and sat in my backyard covering a few steps. Just as I was thanking God, I saw another bigger rainbow which came up concentrically with the first one and now……I had two beautiful, huge, amazing rainbows right above me(blessed me).

Photo by Ben Neale on Unsplash

And today morning, as I went to my backyard, I was surprised to see my dear rabbit welcoming me. I named him Muffin. Just as I smiled at him, came the actual surprise, another rabbit(so now they are a pair!). I named her Frosty 🥰 Following is their pic post a small but cute fight. Right one is Muffin & obviously the left, healthy one is Frosty.

I’m sure nature presents its wonders every moment, every day for everyone. It’s just a matter of being aware and being present in the moment😇

--

--

Trisha

IT professional, an empath, N.L.P practitioner, energy healer, love reading books, traveling & spending time with family and friends