CS373 Fall 2023: Trish Truong

Trish Truong
2 min readSep 23, 2023

--

What did you do this past week?

I met with my project group three times, one of which included meeting with our mentor TA, Yoonwoo. The first two meetings were to set up our request for a proposal and the third was to delegate tasks and issues to begin project development. Independently, I worked on creating a react app for our repository, making a good drive folder to hold our resources, creating the layout for the phase one technical report, committing our proposal to the readme file, and working on designing our RESTful API documentation via Postman. As usual, I worked on studying for the daily quizzes and completed the second HackerRank exercise during class.

What’s in your way?

At first, the lack of good data resources caused my group’s progress to be stuck, but once we decided to switch ideas and follow the data things got a lot less stressful. As of now, my team is working on getting the API keys from our data sources so we can scrape the needed data, a team member and I are working on designing the website look to begin front-end development, and another member is working on setting up AWS to host our website.

What will you do next week?

This coming week, I will be working on my project’s about page and technical report. I will also be looking out for any other items that need to be done based on the project phase one rubric.

What did you think of Paper #5: The Single Responsibility Principle?

I thought the idea was interesting and made sense, and I had never really thought about the concept before. I think it is a hard concept to adhere to, but a good software developer can change their thinking to adapt to the project's needs.

What was your experience of the coverage of Python types and operators?

It was overwhelming at first covering so much and I know I still need practice and reviewing to have the types and operator solidified in my brain.

What made you happy this week?

I was happy to make progress with my team on our proposal and that I got to hang out with my friends this week, and I am excited about the upcoming development of our website.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

As I mentioned before a team member and I used Figma to design our website look. This is my pick-of-the-week because during my internship I also used Figma to design a mobile user interface and it helped me outline what I was going to code and how I would. Figma also can help create very high-fidelity designs with interactions.

--

--