Tristan Naramore
1 min readJul 7, 2017

--

I’ve always found it very hard to understand why our society places so much value on physical talents or attributes (sports stars, models) and so little on high intelligence.

For example, Kim Kardashian has over 50m Twitter followers, while Bill Nye has 5m and Neil deGrasse Tyson has 7.9m. Meanwhile, Marilyn vos Savant “The Smartest Woman in the World” has a paltry 4k.

Athletes and pop music stars (the “in” kids back in school days) strut their stuff and set trends. But pity the fool with a high IQ who dares “talk big”! I learned very early that in order to survive this society and get along with normal people, I had to dumb down my language and resist the urge to inject facts into conversations where opinions were flouted as “facts”.

But it all worked out in the end. I used that big brain to leverage my way into a good college and (eventually) a great career in tech. Oh, and married a really hot sapiosexual woman :-)

--

--