Reflections from kickstarting the first Russian-American startup accelerator

Tristan Pollock
5 min readAug 15, 2019

A Russian entrepreneur once told me, “Don’t split the bear’s skin before you kill the bear.” I’m still not sure I completely understand the proverb, but what I make of it is this: Always remember to put one foot before the other or you will stumble. Of course, looking where you are going is always a smart thing to do, but when it comes to startups, vision is key. Same goes for developing startup ecosystems. That’s why I was so surprised to see the progression of Moscow’s startup scene into an innovation hub that’s churning out ideas and entrepreneurs — not just dramatic mainstream-media headlines.

When outsiders think of Moscow, they may consider the frigid temperature, bottles of vodka being devoured, and Russian hackers working in super-secret facilities like in the movie ‘Goldeneye.’ Well, there may be some truth to the vodka part (I was offered everything from Beluga vodka with black unpasteurized caviar to fermented horse milk and horseradish vodka), but what I experienced in Moscow was something a little bit more surprising.

New-Year wonders in Moscow streets

My wife and I arrived in Moscow at the end of November. The average temperature was around -6°C during my two months stay as the Entrepreneur-in-Residence (E.I.R.) for the…

--

--

Tristan Pollock

Movement Builder ||| Founding Partner @CoolClimateFund ||| Alum @500GlobalVC @Google @TheEdenDAO @Terradotdo #ODCT