Why I Switched to the Old Version of Reddit

P Trivedi
1 min readJun 11, 2022

--

Reddit offers so many useful features: there’s thumbnail previews, trending topics, and auto-playing videos. The website offers card, classic, and compact views, and it has a colorful, yet simple layout. It also looks very modern and makes it easier to view information. Reddit has grown so much since the early years, and many subs provide links and information I can’t really find anywhere else.

With these features, why would I want to go back to old Reddit?

The old layout is simpler and easier to read. While the pictures and videos make the website more useful, they distract me from the actual posts on the website. It’s easy to see the thumbnails and click on those to view the images instead of reading the posts. When I scroll through my feed, I find myself reading the previews and perhaps not getting to posts and comments that would also interest me.

The old, simplified design makes it easier to read through titles and find posts that interest me. I can forego the thumbnails and auto-playing videos and focus on the titles and posts. While the pictures and videos provide essential context, sometimes I just want a simpler design and to focus on reading through the unique information on Reddit.

What do you think? Do you find yourself switching to the old layout of Reddit?

--

--

P Trivedi

Christian, working professional, Food Network watcher.