Hinamatsuri Anime Review

Timothy Moore
2 min readJan 30, 2019

--

Hinamatsuri is a manga/ anime created by Masao Otake. The story is about a mysterious girl who crash lands into the apartment of a yakuza named Nitta. Nitta discovers that the young girl named Hina has supernatural powers and decides to keep it a secret from the public. But things go down south when Hina causes trouble for Nitta and the people around him. I absolutely loved this anime!!! From the story to the characters all of it was good.

Granted I usually like slice of life/comedy animes but this one was exceptionally good. The one thing I liked about the anime was fact that the secondary characters had just as much of the spotlight as the main characters. For example, there was this one episode dedicated to Hina’s friends double life as a middle schooler and a bartender which led to some hilarious jokes and reactions. this maybe an unpopular opinion but Hina’s character is sort of bland. But I think her character is meant to be like that because a lot of the show’s humor comes from other characters reacting to her one track mind. I also like the father/daughter relationship between Hina and Nitta.

I just love watching Nitta trying to find a way to get rid of Hina but ultimately decides to take care of her. Other characters like Anzu who is Hina’s comrade and Hitomi who is Hina’s friend/classmate are also great characters. Anzu is a similar to Hina in the sense that she also has supernatural powers. But unlike Hina she is a lot smarter and kinder than her. She is probably one of my favorite characters other than Nitta. I particularly like Anza’s story of learning how to be a proper member of society while dealing with her homelessness. I won’t talk about the ending to the anime but it definitely makes you wish there was a season two! Overall, I really enjoyed this anime and would recommend it to fans who like supernatural comedy animes.

--

--

Timothy Moore
0 Followers

I’m an anime fan who likes to discuss about all of the amazing anime shows out in the world. I also like to review cartoons as well.