Personalizing your workspace

Tiana robinson
5 min readJun 5, 2023

--

Hello there,

If you're anything like me and you require a workspace that caters to your personal needs (be it on the computer or your physical desk), then you have come to the right article.

I'm going to share some of my favorite extensions to add that little touch of personalization to Visual Studio Code. At the end of this article I will also share some of the things I have at my desk as well.

Photo by Emile Perron on Unsplash

Visual Studio Code Themes

I’m not sure about you but I usually use a dark theme as I’ve found that staring at a bright screen all day can upset my eyes or lead to a headache. I also noticed that reading through code is easier to process when the background is dark and the words are light. Keeping that in mind, here are some themes I’ve found to be enjoyable.

The current theme I’m using:

Tokyo Night. (✨light and dark option✨)

This theme is one of my favorites right now. There are actually three settings for you to choose from: Tokyo Night(dark), Tokyo Night Storm(semi-dark), Tokyo Night Light(light). I also want to note that there are some easy customizations (and explicit directions) that you can make to the setting of this theme to change things such as italicized letters and colors.

For lovers of the light:

Ysgrifennwr Theme.

I know I said that I am a dark theme girly, but I did enjoy something about this light theme. The color scheme is gentle (cream light color) but the lettering makes certain words stand out. It also has a somewhat vintage feel too it and I find that to be a little more pleasing than a bright white screen.

Anime themed workspaces:

Doki Theme.

If you find yourself capable of working with a somewhat loud background this theme might be fun for you. It is themed as cute anime and can be customized a little more specifically than other themes. I recommend looking at it because it is really fun and brings a drastic difference to your workspace.

Themes made even darker and perfect ‧ ˙ᕀ ✧ᱸ༝ ‧:

August Themes.

This is an extension that offers quite a few dark themes that you can also customize to your liking. There is a list of themes and their names in the link provided so you can pick which one might suit your fancy.

Customize the outer color of each workspace:

Peacock.

So this “theme” isn't quite a theme per se, but it does allow you to change the color of each instance of workspace you have open( basically the border of Vscode). It’s very helpful if you are working in multiple projects at once.

Photo by Shahadat Rahman on Unsplash

Code changing extensions (VSC)

Want some extensions that make life easier when it comes to sorting out errors or just reading your code? This next section will cover some font or syntax modifying extensions through Visual Studio Code that I think are useful and have saved me quite a few times.

Indentation color customization:

Evondev — Indent Rainbow Palettes.

This is a classic indentation theme. If you don’t have this already I highly recommend adding it to your Vscode workspace. This extension can be very useful if you are working with indentation sensitive languages like Python. Even if you’re not, I find this extension helps me make sure I’m formatting my code. Plus it’s pretty, hehe.

Keep track of the different scopes in your code:

Bracket Pair Colorization.

I LOVE this extension! In the most simplistic explanation, it creates a line to connect the starting and closing of a bracket or parentheses. This one is even more helpful when you are trying to assess the scope of a function or statement and also helps you fix those pesky missing bracket errors.

Dyslexic font modifier:

Carl Saunders tutorial.

The link provided here will take you to a tutorial (thanks to Carl Saunders) that helps you set up Vscode to make reading and working through code somewhat easier. This shoe is not a one size fits all and you will most certainly need to test it out to see if you will experience the same expected results.

Photo by Ivan Didenko on Unsplash

What's on my desk

Some of these things outright are going to seem silly, but I just want to share them in case even one person finds them intriguing. Just keep in mind that some of these will cost money.

Rubber Duck:

Amazon. ($)

Lets just say if you code, you should have one. Seriously Im not sure why it helps but it does. Maybe it’s a small reminder that someone, somewhere, will always be willing to “rubberduck” ideas with me.

Keyboards:

Logitech G715 ($$$)

I was randomly gifted this keyboard and adore it! It’s full-sized and has a cute cloud armrest. If you are someone who loves to hear a nice clacking sound this one might work nicely for you.

Halo75 Wireless Mechanical Keyboard ($$)

This is a slightly more affordable option with a great aesthetic and has lots of customization options. We love options.

Blue light glasses:

Visoone Glasses ($)

These are the blue light glasses I have. The initial link will take you a brand that I believe is popular, has options to accommodate many different styles, and the glasses are affordable.

Mini Legos:

Nano block sets ($)

I love building mini Lego sets. Its the perfect pass time when I need to stay at my desk but also want a break from looking at code. Plus it keeps my brain in a creative state.

Magnetic “Legos”:

Pixio magnets ($$$)

You will notice that these little magnet squares can become quite expensive. If you look at all of their options though, they have some smaller building options that are the perfect size for the desk. I have the flamingo($) and I really enjoy it. I can break it down and fidget with the magnets or build other little characters aside from the flamingo.

Most of the things in this article have made a huge impact on my work efficiency. Through trial and error I have began to form a workspace that truly caters to the needs I must meet to be proactive in my daily work. For fellow work-from-home folks, I recommend doing yourself the favor and spicing up the space you spend the most time in. Do you have something at your desk that you would recommend to others? I’d love to hear what they are below.

--

--