Appreciate when the waves are calm

Because when the storms of life come your way you’ll be clutching onto the boat for dear life.

Troy Erstling
3 min readOct 30, 2018

I like to look at life like an ocean. Some days the waves are calm, some days the waves are choppy, other days the waves are enormous and will wipe you out.

For much of my life, I never really appreciated how calm the waves around me were. Life has been very good to me. I’ve lived in pretty peaceful seas.

Over the last year however, I’ve been through a lot of things that have taken me through a whirlwind of emotions. I shut down my company, started a new job, went through a breakup, stopped talking to my one of my older brothers, and largely been asking myself a lot of longer term questions about what the hell I want out of life.

Needless to say, the oceans have been a lot more choppy this year. Waves of emotion have overwhelmed me on several occasions. There have been times where I sit down to meditate and my body is swirling with feelings I have never felt before. It’s been both scary, overwhelming, and exciting all the same.

These experiences have taught me to appreciate when the waves are calm. To appreciate the days when I sit down to meditate and have nothing to worry about, nothing on my mind. To be grateful for the times

--

--