How I Got My Self-Published Book into Bookstores

t. r. perry
3 min readJul 6, 2022

Spoiler Alert: I asked

I am a girl with a dream to be in bookstores. I absolutely love to write, and always had a goal to write a full-length book and see it on shelves next to my favorite authors. Typically, I’m the sort of person that loves things so much, I have to participate. And my love for reading isn’t any different.

So, when I had finally published my novel in June last summer, I didn’t think that it was possible to get my book into a real-live bookstore, because I’m not some fancy author celebrity with a million dollars to spare. What I didn’t realize was that in just a few months, I would see my book on the shelf of my local bookstore all for free!

Here’s how I did it.

unsplash.com

Publish the Book

First things first. You need to get your book published. Now the fastest way to do this is to publish it yourself. My favorite book software to publish with for free is at Reedsy.com. Through them, you can typeset your book so it is in a format ready for printing. After that, you can upload your file to a free printing site such as Amazon.com (Kindle Direct Publishing). Here, you can add the necessary information such as a title and receive an ISBN number and set your price. After that, you’re ready for step 2.

Create a Media Press…

--

--

t. r. perry

I write about mindfulness, minimalism, intentionality and content creation. www.tiffanyrperry.com