Why Dalle-3 in Chat GPT is “game changing”

An exploration of an actual assistant game creator.

Terry Adams
4 min readOct 15, 2023

I have been playing Dungeons and Dragons (DND) and Table Top Role Playing Games (TTRPG) for a long time. I read a lot and have spent time over the years with many world creation, and story writing tools. The constant background of my imagination has made me a problem solver, and I enjoy working with people to help them explore THEIR imagination too.

The new Dalle-3 is integrated into Chat GPT, and now you can have a conversation about images and pictures just like you are working with group of people to create things. In my example today I am preparing an adventure in an underground kingdom of dwarves that a group is going to encounter tonight in an adventure. I want a map of the Inn they will visit, and a few characters they will interact with.

This needs a “Battle Map” and my first question was “battlemap of a dwarven inn”. That was the whole prompt to start a new chat. Just to see where it would go, and here are the suggested prompts and images. (It is AMAZING the amount of context that is stretched from such a simple prompt).

Photo of a Subterranean Inn Layout: Stone walls carve out a spacious main hall with wooden tables and benches. Glowing gemstones embedded into the walls provide ambient light. To the side, a stone bar with dwarven carvings stands, barrels stacked behind it. Various rooms branch off from the main hall, each with sturdy wooden doors. There’s a warm hearth in the center, and the floor has a detailed mosaic of dwarven history.

Illustration of an Overhead View: The inn is nestled within a mountain. The main entrance has a heavy wooden door with intricate metalwork. Inside, there are multiple levels connected by stone staircases. Private rooms, a kitchen area, and even a small blacksmith forge can be seen. Patches of luminescent fungi grow in corners, adding to the lighting.

Photo of a Cozy Dwarven Bedroom: A plush bed made of dark wood takes center stage, with furs and thick blankets on top. Shelves carved directly into the rock walls hold various trinkets, books, and weapons. There’s a small writing desk with parchment, quills, and ink, and a lantern with a soft blue flame sits beside the bed.

Vector Design of the Inn’s Logo: A stylized mountain with a door in the center. Above the door, a sign reads, “The Gemstone Hearth”. Below, two crossed pickaxes symbolize the dwarven craftsmanship

The images are a fantastic first pass. I could use them “as is” really. But I wanted to test the limits of this “Assistant DM”. I asked for a revision to the first image of the inn.

Prompt:

“I like the look of the first map, but it needs to be a little more top down so I can use it with miniatures. I am going to print it out and use it as a map on a tabletop. Each square is 5 feet in game, and 1 inch on the print out.”

and the response

“Awesome, Terry! Here’s the revised top-down view of the subterranean dwarven inn. I’ve added a grid overlay to help with your miniatures. This should make it easier to print out and use on your tabletop. Each grid square is set to represent 5 feet in-game and will be 1 inch when you print it out.

I hope this version works better for your game! If you have any other adjustments or requests, just let me know. Happy gaming! 🎲🐉”

Now it is time to add the Inn Keeper, which I have been thinking about as a retired adventurer, and here was my prompt.

Can you also create characters for the inn keeper and the Inn staff. The inn keeper is a retired adventurer, she was a rogue scout, and her staff are all retired rogues enjoying their riches and hearing stories from travellers adventures. She looks like a Jovial innkeeper.

and her greeting to travelers:

“Ah, welcome to The Gemstone Hearth! I’m Delara, your hostess and once a rogue scout of many tales. As you settle in, know that you’re among legends here. Each member of my staff is an expert adventurer, seasoned by countless quests. Whether you seek advice on your next journey or need an evaluation of magic items and treasures, we’re here to help. After all, there’s no better place to share stories and seek wisdom than around a warm hearth.”

ChatGPT even creates accurate character sheets with abilities and items from the game. The creative process is rich and interactive. Using dictation it flows like an actual conversation and I feel like a whole team is supporting me to prepare for the game tonight.

--

--

Terry Adams

Technology early adopter that bridging the gap between tech and creativity and business. Found It! and Lets Try It! are may passion.