Something shifted.

Gugu
3 min readJan 28, 2023

--

Jivan can see the man in front of his eye drowned in sweat. He’s clearly sitting in the broken car with no air conditioner for too long and the weather outside is no help either.

He looks so small in his oversize jacket and long sleeve turtleneck tshirts, with baggy jeans who’s definitely needs some seams but he somehow makes it stylish. He removes his jacket because it’s too hot outside and now he looks even smaller than before.

Hayu’s outfit for reference.

Jivan never has someone come over to his house. Heck- no one in the university even come near his house probably. He still doesn’t know why he’s so easily invite this man named Hayu inside. That message just slipped from his fingers eventho’ he’s been holding back himself for the last few days to reply to Hayu’s message because he doesn’t want to get involved with this person even more.

But lately Jivan’s been feeling curious about him and wonder why this smaller-but-older guy has been in his head so much. Is it the food? Is it the familiarity of him from coming in front of his door for the past week? Maybe Jivan is trying to find the answer so He unconsciously invites him over.

“This is wonderful. No wonder you won so many prizes.” Now both of them sit in Jivan’s study room. Hayu is busy looking at the photos hanging at Jivan’s wall and Jivan is busy following Hayu’s footsteps.

“Why are you being nice to me?” Jivan opened his mouth finally.

“Huh? What do you mean?” Hayu seems confused when he hears the question.

“What are you doing? Do you do this because I said I won’t forgive you last time? If yes, just stop. Let’s just say I forgive you.” said Jivan aggressively.

“Whether you forgive me or not, I’m still gonna do the same thing. I feel responsible for hurting you.” Hayu answered.

“Oh, so it’s your guilty conscience?” Jivan laughed condescendingly.

“Yeah, so it’s not even me being nice to you. This is me feeding my ego to feel good about myself by being nice.” Hayu responded while brushing his long hair and smile.

Jivan actually didn’t expect to hear that response from him. He’s been told by so many people how kind of person Hayu is. So he always associated Hayu with the color white. Something pure, innocent and spotless. He believes in black and white world, but somehow Hayu looks grey to him today and it makes him more attractive than before.

“And it’s not like I’m doing a crime.” Hayu continued. “If you’re uncomfortable I would definitely stop. But it seems like you enjoy the food I bought you so I keep coming.”

Jivan smiled. He took something from his cupboard and passed it to Hayu. “I believe this is your mom’s.”

The plastic bag contains a lot of lunch boxes from the days before. “I don’t know how your mom has this many lunch boxes and you never asked for them back.”

“Well you never answered my chats.” Hayu responded. “And my mom got her tupperware obsession era so this is only half of what she owns.”

The room is back to silence and Hayu is still standing in front of Jivan’s glass shelf looking at many awards that Jivan won for photography. “Hey, can I take a look at this?” Hayu pointed at the blue velvet album and Jivan nodded giving permission.

Hayu opens the album and he can see many photos of nature. Seems like Jivan loves to take pictures of the sea the most. Hayu kept praising Jivan and Jivan just laughed it off. He finds it funny everytime Hayu gives commentary of his photos.

Jivan is starting to get comfortable having someone in his study room. Usually it’s cold and he’s alone. But before he got too comfortable, Hayu’s phone rang.

“Well…guess my helper is here already.”

--

--