10 Words You are Probably Pronouncing Wrong

I am sure we have all said these incorrectly

Marla J. Albertie
2 min readAug 15, 2019
Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

I love words, and I love to read so I try to stay abreast on the proper pronunciation of words. I even subscribe to Dictionary.com’s word of the day. I get a kick out of learning the new word of the day and its meaning, and, yes, I hit the speaker icon to hear how it is pronounced. From time to time, in my reading if there is a word I don’t know, I look it up.

Transparent moment: I had to look up a few words in Michelle Obama’sbook Becoming.

Here are 10 words you are probably pronouncing wrong:

1. Acai [ah-sigh-EE]. I am guilty of this one.

2. Quinoa [KEEN-wah]. I am guilty of this one, too.

3. Gnocchi [NYAW-kee]. No it is not Go-no-chi! Go figure.

4. Et cetera [et SET-ER-UH]. The “et” is pronounced. We like to say “eck-set-er-uh. I knew this one J

5. Daylight Saving Time. There is no “s” on saving. Are you guilty of this one? I knew this one too.

6. Cache [cash]. Yes, we want to pronounce the “che,” but that is a no, no.

7. Irregardless [ri-GARD-lis]. Not a word. It is” regardless.”

--

--

Marla J. Albertie

I/O Consultant|Coach|Life-Harmonizing Strategist|AcademicEntrepreneur|Author|Educator. Want harmony in your life? Go here: https://www.truthspeakscoaching.com