Engineers Spend 10 Hours Per Week in Meetings? I Wish!

I’m Currently in a Meeting

The Secret Developer
4 min readJun 2, 2024
Photo by Malvestida on Unsplash

Time is important as a software developer. Giving us time means we have the ability to perform in our job.

In my exploration of the Internet, I found a fun site explaining where the time is spent for software developers. I want to align this to my experience and explain where things might be going wrong in the tech industry.

Focus Time is Important

Intuitively I’d say that software engineers invariably hate meetings as it eats into their time to produce solutions and focus.

And it does turn out that focus time is important, and research shows interruptions incur costs of higher stress, frustration, workload, effort, and pressure.

Engineering teams also place high value on focus time in terms of time and productivity.

https://www.getclockwise.com/eng-meeting-benchmarks

I’m in agreement with this. I need to refactor a whole section of work and need a day or two of focused concentration. Unfortunately, I have two standup meetings (30 minutes apart) and duplicate Agile ceremonies — I have no idea when I will be able to focus and…

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.