How I Was Rejected With 🙂Emoji From a Dev Job

It’s Just Cruel

The Secret Developer
6 min readJun 19, 2024
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Do you know what is worse than being rejected from a software development job?

It’s when you’re disrespected, misled, and treated like trash. :)

The recruiter couldn’t even use Emoji correctly

The Background

I hate my job. I’ve been complaining about it on this blog for a couple of years, and things aren’t getting better.

The market in my area though just, ticked up. This gave me a ray of hope, and I thought that I’d start applying for jobs.

I prepared for interviews — that is I prepped my algorithms, tech tests, and behavioral interviews. There have been layoffs at my employer, so the timing is good.

I applied for a job. It’s precisely the job I do every day, and I genuinely prepare well for interviews so what might go wrong?

The Interview

Photo by airfocus on Unsplash

I command a reasonable salary, and I usually get through to the final round on any given interview cycle. In fact, my strike rate for getting a job is pretty good (once I’ve had a few…

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.